Dear Deer,

So. I hit a deer a deer jumped/tumbled over my car on Friday, as I was driving home from work….

heh.

I saw one leap across the road, so I braked to look for more, cuz they never travel in ones around here…I didn’t see any in front of me or on the side of the road. And then in my peripheral vision, I saw it. Coming right at my driver side window. At that point, I was probably going maybe 5 or 10 miles an hour, but I thought it was going to come right thru the window at me. Then there was a knock/thud of its hooves hitting the window. I stopped completely and looked behind me to see if it was ok, and it was bounding down the hill, so I assumed it didn’t break its legs or anything. I sat and stared at the mud on my window that hadn’t been there before. There were a few deer hairs on the window as well, which confirmed that the event had, in fact, taken place. Cuz at that point, I wasn’t so sure. I mean. A deer lept over my car?? Granted, I have a short car. And, I guess it only *tried* to leap, but didn’t clear it, since it did leave hair and mud prints.

Well, I had finally gotten my replacement phone the nite before- which meant it had no numbers in it, ‘cept M’s and her kids, cuz I had been babysitting that nite and put them in. I wanted to call the school and tell Lisa or Paula or someone, and warn them about the deer. I just wanted to call SOMEONE. I tried J’s cell phone, but I guess I didn’t remember the right number. So, I called L, cuz I knew her number by heart. heh.

I checked when I got home, and there wasn’t any damage, except a small scrape above the window. But then today I was walking by my car and I noticed there is also a dent by the back window. Not sure if it’s from the deer, but I have to assume it is, due to placement. It’s not in a place where a shopping cart or even a truck door would’ve been able to make such a dent.

I was pretty freaked out about the whole thing for a while last nite. I had never hit a deer before. heh.

So I went to wally world and bought a betta fish, lol.

Of course, now I have to find my fish tank and clean it and set it all up and stuff. Tho I recall reading that bettas don’t actually *like* big spaces. But I hate to see them in those teeny tiny little bowls that people keep them in. So I think I will set up my tank- it’s only like, 2.5 or maybe 5 gallons, and get a big hidey rock thing and some plants for it. I just babysat for Jen’s kids and she paid me way too much money, so. Why not be stupid and spend it on shit I don’t need, right? Right. *rolls eyes*

Log in to write a note
October 20, 2007

gonna name the fish Bambi… in honor of the deer you hit? :-p

So glad you weren’t hurt in the “deer encounter.” My parents had a dog run into their car on New Year’s Eve one year. None of us believed them because, well, it was New Year’s Eve and we were sure they had had a few drinks. Turns out it happened ON THE WAY to the place they were hanging out at on New Year’s Eve. Weird.

October 21, 2007

Yikes…sorry about the deer thing. That must’ve been scary! Bettas are fine in tanks that size…they just feel threatened if a lot of other guys are in their space. But you can even put them in large tanks and they do fine, even among other fish. Just have to watch what TYPE of other fish are in there.

October 22, 2007

not sure her new stuff is “out” out yet…heh, does that make ANY sense? just she’s doing some new stuff at performances…. this one was also on House the other week, apparently. so she should have new stuff out out soon 🙂 *hugs*

I’m glad both you and the deer are okay. That must have been terrifying. I know I would have gotten the shakes. Do you know why they are called betta fish? I’ve always wondered about that. I used to have an aquarium when I was little, but my dad did all of the work with it. I’ve considered getting another one, but I know there’s a lot of work that goes into them and I’m not sure I’m up to it.If I’m gonna do it, I would want to do it right and give them a good home.