till we meet again

“Now behold, a marvelous work is about to come forth among the children of men.    Therefore, O ye that embark in the service of God, see that ye serve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength…   For behold the field is white already to harvest; and lo, he that thrusteth in his sickle with his might, the same layeth up in store that he perisheth not, but bringeth salvation to his soul”

“Again I say, hearken ye elders of my church, whom I have appointed: Ye are not sent forth to be taught, but to teach the children of men the things which I have put into your hands by the power of my Spirit”

Today I realized he was not only my brother, he’s also a son of God, and a man ready to serve.  The spirit welled within my heart durring the last hours I was with him.  He gave me a special blessing before leaving.  It made me feel so much closer to him, it gave me faith in what he was doing, and it gave me a reassurance that he was ready to embark on one of the most important things he will do in his life.  He truly is living with the spirit as his brother, his friend, and as his guide.

I said goodbye today to man I merely met today…  I found my brother the day he had to leave.  Tears fell that had fallen before. I cried the same tears I cried when my Father went away. But this time, I’ll get to cry them again when my brother comes home.  I never knew who my brother was, I could never see it in him, until today when he blessed me with tears in his eyes and a love in his voice and heart that I had never felt before.  I’m so very proud of him. It’s taken him a while to find himself, but I’m glad he has. I asked him a year ago who he was, today he answered me.  “I am a son of God, and I’m your brother.”

As he walked through security at the airport to board his plane to Brazil, where he will be for the next 2 years, a song came to my mind, and touched my heart and the very depths of my soul….

God be with you till we meet again;
By his counsels guide, uphold you;
With his sheep securely fold you.
God be with you till we meet again.

God be with you till we meet again;
When life’s perils thick confound you,
Put his arms unfailing round you.
God be with you till we meet again.

God be with you till we meet again;
Keep love’s banner floating o’er you;
Smite death’s threat’ning wave before you.
God be with you till we meet again.

…..God be with you till we meet again, Elder Webb.

Log in to write a note
April 5, 2005

i memorized that scripture d&c 4. i’m happy for you and your brother. i know what he is doing is right and i can’t wait untill i have hte oppurunity to join the ranks of the mission field. may the spirit always guide him, may his testimony never waver, and may the lord always keep a smiling eye over him and the same for his family. many are called, but few are chosen

I’m going to Brazil this summer for mission work with my grandparents, thats pretty cool.

April 6, 2005