I know

Days pass and the trail of your tears fade.  You wait for rainy nights to take walks in the darkness.  You talk to yourself, telling yourself over and over the things you should have said.  the things you should have done.  should have…
Smiles return.  Forced, but still there. No one has to know but you.  You think no one knows but you.  But I know. 

I know that sometimes you cry when you’re alone.  I know there are moments you feel their presence and you stop and breathe in the possibility that they are there, next to you.  I know every once in a while you’re hit with a memory and it feels so far away.  I know you think about them everyday and the things you wish you could have done differently.  I know you miss them more than you let others see.  I know you hurt more than you’ll admit.  

  I know.  I hurt that way too.

Log in to write a note