nursing home….rant

Why would anybody look forward to getting old…when the only option you have is to get old…and be put into an institution where nobody comes to see you…and your granted only so much outside time per day…it’s as if society is saying that our older generation that raised us….is not up to par to function in the changes of our world…i’d rather just be dead…then have my relatives put me into a home…because i’m too much of a burden for them…wow that’s love there…i know people have their own lives to live…but what about the people that put you on this earth to begin with? argh…didn’t have this thought till i saw a lady sitting outside today at a nursing home…she looked horribly lonely…*sigh*…i guess some things never change…

Log in to write a note

I suppose you can’t really understand it until you experience it first hand. I had the opportunity to help out at one my senior year, and I’ll probably be working at one sometime during my clinicals. It was an eye opening experience. Those people in there can be amazing. I need to tell you stories (think i have?). I have pics too. Anywho, no nursing home is a great thing, I pray i never have

September 26, 2004

to put my parents in one or be put in one myself, but sometimes it’s the only option. You sure have random thoughts babe šŸ™‚ It’s a good and not always so good thing..lol…love ya!

September 26, 2004

i completely agree with you. seeing my grandmaw the way she is makes me never want to get old either. like you said i see the effects it has on other people either takeing care of them or putting them in a nursing home. i wouldn’t want to be a burden either.

McK
September 27, 2004

Remember the time we visited the nursing home in Kinder? Or whatever kind of place that was… Nobody in nursing homes here would be able to understand a word I said, so I can’t do that here! But you, maybe Melanie too, could always go and make visitations. I know you’re on a strict schedule, but it would be a good thing to do in your free time. God bless!

September 27, 2004

Now you know good and well that when you get old and are wheelchair bound, you will be in that nursing home racing all the other old people in their wheelchairs down the hallway for their jello. *lol* Just thought I would lighten the mood a lil bit with a joke, like I always seem to do. Don’t worry, I’ll probably be in a nursing home WAY before you are anyway because I’m already half-way there!

I just have to say LMAO at becca’s note…i think that is soooo true…you would challenge all the other residents to a wheelchair race for their jello…lol…ok, i’m done šŸ™‚ oh yeah it’s me…not signed in..hee