Review: Intro Christian Doctrine by Erickson

 Professor Erickson has made the weightier matters of the Christian faith more accessible through his book, Introducing Christian Doctrine.  When you at first see this book it has a some what intimidating appearance, but the contrary is true and the author has created a masterful book which looks at a number of key doctrines, examining them in a language suitable for any new believer to comprehend.  I thought the author displays much learning and knowledge and marries them with understanding to produce a very readable book. 

 Right from the start the author takes the mystery out of the phrase doctrine, showing clearly its importance and value, even the youngest Christian could approach this book without fear.  I believe that this is an important start for such an important book, as many Believers, especially of the Pentecostal persuasion, lack a solid biblical foundation that will keep them when the storms of life assail.  

 Erickson sets clear objectives for each chapter, giving the reader an idea of what they can expect to encounter, I thought this was really helpful especially when it comes to using this book again in future for reference as it will help to identify important sections for quick reference.  To further enhance the readers appreciation of the subject there is included some study questions which I found of great value, especially as some of the subjects outlined would be more alluring and generate a desire to pursue them for further study and these questions hint at other avenues of inquiry.

 Prior to reading this book I did possess a rudimentary understanding of many of the doctrines examined and would not have called myself ignorant, however, the depth and extent to which the author has gone shows in stark relief against my own limited study.  I found each chapter enhanced my perception of the subject and brought a depth of appreciation along with it.  It is obvious that Erickson has gone to great pains to make this book an easy to read and grasp handbook to introduce the weightier matters of the faith to the grass roots of the faith.

 As Erickson explores the plans of God the reader is presented with a really good explanation of Human freedom and free choice.  By listing a personal preference of steak over liver he demonstrates that his own free choice is limited by personal preference.

 I make all my decisions, but those decisions are in large measure influenced by certain characteristics of mine which I am not capable of altering by my own choice which I am not capable of altering by my own choice.  If, for example, I am offered for dinner a choice between liver and steak, I am quite free to take the liver, but I do not desire to do so.  I have no conscious control over my dislike of liver…  In that respect my freedom is limited[1].

 In all honesty I had struggled with understanding freedom of choice within the realms of that most prickly of doctrines, predestination, however, from the example given I can now see the answer and the difficulties all the clearer.  As with all analogies it does fail eventually, because it is possible for someone who dislikes liver to eat it when their will power is exercised, provided the desire is greater than the revulsion.

 This example by the author perfectly typifies the writing style which is familiar and apparently lacking in any over spiritualized sophistication.  I believe that through the use of common speech and examples the great truths of the word can be broken open and made all the more accessible to the postmodern man.  Examples such as this liver and steak are helpful to take any intimidation out of doctrine and present it as Jesus would have, in everyday language. 

 This section outlining the freedom of choice followed a section on the controversial teachings of Calvinism and Armenianism.  It is clear from the amount of support which Erickson lends the Calvinistic model that his personal convictions lie in that direction.  I would also tend to lean towards Calvin’s teachings on the Sovereignty of God but als

o stress the importance of our personal responsibility. 

 The author’s explanation of Gods Sovereignty really helped me to understand this more fully and coherently.  Personally I would have liked to read a more thorough explanation and supporting argument from the Armenian point of view.  However, it is clear from the author’s comments that he sees no warrant for this stand point which suggests that the commands of God are subject to the will of man.

           

Despite difficulties in relation divine sovereignty to human freedom we none the less come to the conclusion on biblical grounds that the plans of God is unconditional rather than conditional upon human choice[2].

 It has been something in the past that many Christians has not fully come to grips with.  Although the subject matter is weighty, the author takes time and patience to expose the truth of these doctrines in uncomplicated language which I easily came to grip with and now understand quite well. 

 Frequently when tacking a challenging topic the author will examine the various view points on that doctrine, I found it particularly interesting to read how a slight twist or misinterpretation to a doctrine can lead its proponents into an almost cult like religion or into further error.  This only helped to further emphasize the value of such study and teaching as a means for continued unity and spiritual growth.

 As the author continues this development of God’s interaction with man, he explores the providence of God with special relation to man’s prayers and how the two tie together.  Erickson makes a comment which had a profound effect upon me.

         Persistent prayer makes it apparent that our petition is important to us, as it is to God.[3]

 This one simple statement shone a new light on the importance of effectual fervent prayer in my life; it has caused me to reevaluate my whole approach to it.

 

In chapter sixteen of Introducing Christian Doctrine, the author explains ‘evil as a necessary accompaniment of the creation of mankind,’ he proposes that the existence of evil was necessary for mankind to really have free choice.  I had never really considered this before.  Erickson claims that the existence of an alternative to God had to be present in order for free will to genuinely exist.  God did create choice when He created in the garden, 

 

And the LORD God planted a garden eastward in

Eden ; and there he put the man whom he had formed. And out of the ground made the LORD God to grow every tree that is pleasant to the sight, and good for food; the tree of life also in the midst of the garden, and the tree of knowledge of good and evil.[4]

 It is an awkward subject to deal with and one that although it sounds logical on one level is at odds with my instincts on another.  That is one of the strengths of this book that I enjoyed, it challenged an

d provoked thought rather than producing doubts or confusion.

 As the logical progression of this book unfolds, Erickson looks at evil and the origin of sin, in this section I came across something which greatly troubled me.  Under the heading ‘God is the Victim of Evil’ the author describes the second person of the trinity as a victim of evil.  This doesn’t sit well with me as to denote God or Jesus as victims implies a weakness, discrepancy or even a frailty of character.  The scriptures are clear, Jesus submitted himself to the laws demands and the will of the Father.

           

And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.[5]

 The clear implication from this verse is that Jesus was obedient to the Father’s will, to the point of death not a victim of evil nor satan as its agent.

       Because of this doth the Father love me, because I lay down my life, that again I may take it; no one doth take it from me, but I lay it down of myself; authority I have to lay it down, and authority I have again to take it; this command I received from my Father.[6]

 

 The development of this type of conversation could invariably lead to a depersonalizing of evil and a removal of it from the realms of satan’s design into an ethereal hypothesis.  Evil does not exist without the devils actions and designs and as a direct consequence of sin.  I don’t know if it was the author’s intention but he seems to be divorcing evil from sin and the devil and is in danger of developing a doctrine of evil.

 

Despite the fact that Erickson’s ‘Introducing Christian Doctrine’ seems to be an imposing book, it is really easy to read.  The flow of thought and reasoning doesn’t require any theological training.  I found the diversity of topics to be really interesting with a few subjects in which I was particularly interested.  The general layout and presentation of the book is very user friendly and at a glance takes the sting out of the subject.

Without hesitation I would recommend this book to anyone seeking a deeper understanding of the things of God.  Erickson does present his own personal view on some subjects, e.g.; The Last Things, but with an even handed approach that allows the student to explore their own beliefs and the Word of God.

 

 

The End

[1] Pg 125

<p class="MsoFootnoteText" style="MARGIN: 0cm 0cm 0pt”>[2] Pg 124

[3] Pg 144

[4] Gen 2: 8+9 (KJV)

[5] Phil 2:8 (KJV)

[6] John 10:17+18 (YLT)

Log in to write a note