winter has finally arrived

 well, after months and months of temperatures in the 80s, winter has finally arrived in Austin. It’s been below freezing for the past 2.5 days, but today it’s supposed to get up to 46 degrees. Rich and I have both been sick for the past 4 days. Fortunately we bought a fancy sectional sofa in DC and I was able to unfold it into a big tatame-mat style shape where we have both been camped out with soup, vitamins, netflix, video games, and other assorted snack foods and diversions.

About 5 years ago a friend of mine from the yoga center moved to Hawaii and she gave me a Sunbeam stand mixer that I’ve used a whole lot. This weekend another friend of mine from the yoga center is moving to Hawaii and she gave me a kickass Kitchenaide stand mixer. I’ve wanted one for years and years; I actually asked Rich to get one for us for Christmas. I can’t wait for an excuse to use it.

Rich and I have tickets to see the new Hobbit movie at the iPic theater here in Austin; we’ve got recliners with pillows and blankets… lunch will be served also, I can’t wait.

We just got back from a long weekend in New Orleans, and I enjoyed myself much more than the first (also the last) time we went there. It was for a softball tournament, and my team did what we normally do.. we lost and talked about how we ‘gave it our all’ and ‘really showed our commitment’. What we really did is play with hangovers and not manage ourselves well off the field. Meh, I’m kind of over softball. I could use a break, or a change of scenery, or a new team. Meh.

There are so many holiday parties coming up… I just don’t know if I have the energy for it all. I really hope I can make it to the Sephora party though, since we’ve rented out a skating rink and I actually own my own roller skates. We’ll see… 

 

I’m off to nap now in my recovery suite… and by nap in my recovery suite, I mean play Super Mario 3D world on my couch.

Log in to write a note
December 10, 2013

Ugh…I was sick for 5 days in October and it buh-LEW. Wishing you and Rich a speedy recovery!

hey! where ya been!? tell me your yoga studio again? im working up north these days off spicewood springs and have moved to cedar park! I’m not in BFE oak hill anymore :p

December 11, 2013

hope you feel better soon! good to see you bold

January 21, 2014

I hear you about the cold. It’s in the single digits here in Rochester this week. How soon before Spring again?