Things are still moving along…

 I can’t believe how quickly time is passing right now. Most of the time it feels like we just moved to DC, I think because we’re still finding our routines and seeing and doing lots of new things. Still, at other times it seems like time is crawling… mostly because I was working long hours in retail in one of the busiest malls in America. My store is the second highest volume store in the company, second only to the 5th avenue store in NYC. It was crazy and I’m glad that I made it through, and now I am working significantly reduced hours. That frees up time to focus on teaching yoga. 

Speaking of that, it’s going well. Initially the audition was set up in a very structured way. I was told that I had a certain time frame and even told which postures to teach. I did that, and I didn’t think it went well. In any case, they hired me and set me on the schedule to teach a lot of hatha yoga, gentle yoga, and restorative yoga. At the end of my first week they asked me if I could perhaps teach a vigorous class because a teacher didn’t show up… so I did, and one of the owners showed up for it. That was pretty cool and she loved it, and now I’m teaching a lot of Ashtanga classes and some vinyasa fundamentals classes. The gentles and restoratives are gone for now but will probably show up a little later. I’m cool with that.

I’m enjoying the day job a lot more since I don’t have to be there for 9 hours a day, 5 days a week. I’m practicing yoga more, I’m spending more time at the gym. The house is clean, the laundry isn’t piling up anymore. And the best part is… I’m actually making more money this way. I’m so lucky that I get to make a living doing something that I love. This first month might be a little hard though, since I won’t get paid for it until the 5th of next month. Oh well, it’s not that far off!

I’m hoping to get some work from the yoga center, I feel like I could really help them develop the business end of it and help the community grow. Let’s do this, Universe!

 

 

Log in to write a note

Fingers crossed for you! Something huge is happening here in the Lehigh Valley… I hope that’s moving all the way down the East Coast. 😀

January 27, 2012

Whoa I’ve been gone a while. I didn’t realize you moved to DC!

February 9, 2012

RYN: Okay, that “frostbite victim” comment is one of the funniest goddamn things I’ve read in a donkey’s age!

RYN: thank you so much for your encouragement and advice. It means A LOT to me. I look up to you in this category. I know you still have your part time gig, but I always get the feeling that you also the part time thing because you love it not because you have to. I’m actually feeling optimistic again today. LOL

RYN: That’s what I was thinking, either straight back or wavy and back and to the left. She says that the length is the main thing she doesn’t like, though.

RYN: thanks again for taking the time for noting me such great advice. 🙂