More changes, more of the same

 The down side of being married to someone who works as a term contract employee is that there is potential for lots of change with very little warning. Case in point: last week Rich showed up at Sephora and said "we need to talk." 

Is there a worse way to begin a conversation? My heart drops out every time he says that… and he has said it for some simple things, you’d think I"d get used to it. He once said "we need to talk." when I left the toilet seat up… back to the story.

He had a meeting with his boss at the USGS and was told that they were not going to renew his contract. Without his job we can’t afford to live in Washington DC, so we’re going to move back to Austin. 

I’m so happy to be moving back to Austin; I’ve missed it terribly. On the day that we decided to move back I sent a text message to the person in charge of scheduling teachers at my old yoga center asking if I could come back to teach and she her answer was "shit yes! We were just talking about how much we missed you!" 

So I’m going to go back to teaching, and also teaching in their teacher training program… Rich has decided to try to pursue something in another field and told me "Well, you moved out here to let me try to find career satisfaction, it only makes sense to go back to where you were happiest in your career." I was really happy to hear that.

Truth be told, I’m happy to leave this city. I’ve really enjoyed being able to ride my bike all over this city but I will be happy to see this city in the rear view mirror. In fact, I’m going to go ride my bike today since softball has been cancelled. After that I will get online and try to find an apartment in Austin. 

I’m so happy to go home.

Log in to write a note

I am inspired by you! I’m so happy things worked out for you. I guess it just goes to show that if we stay open, things will be ok. I didn’t get much sleep last night because I was stressing over my upcoming decision. I keep flip flopping but I think I feel a bit more peace and I’m gonna go forward with confidence.

June 3, 2012

Someday I will see Austin. Maybe I’ll see you if I do!

June 3, 2012

so happy for you, sounds like DC was just a slight detour on your journey! 😉 have a safe trip back to austin whenever it is you move.

That is amazing news. I’m sorry for Rich’s misfortune, but that feels overshadowed by seeing you return home. =)

June 4, 2012

I am happy for you!

ryn – trust me, my life would bore you to tears… though in comparison of current events, I don’t envy your task ahead in moving back “home,” though it’s great to be able to walk back into a job/place that you enjoyed so! 🙂

🙂 That was really sweet of him to say. Glad you are going home.