gong training

A few of you readers have asked what a gong training is,so I’ll try to ‘splain.

In kundalini yoga, we will play a gong for different reasons. It can be used to create a pattern of vibration and resonation that affect the body’s subtle energy system (I’m talkin’ chakras, Overlap!). It’s also a tool used to provide the impetus for change, or to shift awareness. Some people hate it, but I love it. I can feel myself vibrating along to it. I have done hour long savasana while a gong was being played, and experienced some amazing things… mainly the ability to be very relaxed, yet completely awake and aware. It also made that one hour seem like 10 minutes. So, I’ll be taking a course on how to play the gong with Mehtab Benton (google him if you want), a leading authority on playing the gong as well as it’s place in yogic history and the ayurvedic tradition.

My brother the atheist is rolling his eyes and doing his "well, I might be weird, but you’re stupid and inferior for believing any of that." And to him (and you other passive aggressive atheist types) I say – I don’t care. I don’t know what I believe in as an agnostic, but I believe in something.

oh yeah, I got more work done on my tattoo sleeve. I have vibrant pink orchids on my forearm, and my bird of paradise is all colored in, as well as my trio of pansies. The pansies are truly gorgeous. I wish i could post pictures of them…but I don’t have any pictures of the, and also, firefox doesn’t like it when I try to post from my laptop. I’ll try to post some pics from work next week if I get a break.

Log in to write a note

WANT SEE TATTOO! *is damn dead tired* *ded*

August 8, 2008

Gong training sounds like it’ll be fun. And your tattoo sounds beautiful!

August 8, 2008

you make me want to try yoga. do you think it substitutes for going to the gym?

The gong sounds nice 🙂