Getting ready for the weekend

Last weekend was the end of season tournament for my softball league, and my team came in 3rd place. It was a lot of fun… I hit a home run that brought in a lot of runs and won a game for us – the umpire (who I’ve known for 6 years now) said "I’m supposed to be impartial, but damn that was great." I was stoked. I also made a few good catches, which is weird because they had me playing in the outfield, and I’m used to being in the infield.

I also realized that the sunblock that my company makes is really great… if you’re not sweating buckets while playing in a two day long tournament in 100+ degree heat. I had to get some sweatproof stuff in a can that worked really well. The last thing I want to do is sun damage my arm now that I’m finally done with all the tattooing.

The yoga center started a kickball team, and I’ve been playing with them. It’s a lot of fun, and is pretty much exactly like softball. I like playing sports with my friends 🙂

I’m also organizing a field trip for next week. David Swenson is leading an ashtanga yoga teacher training at our center that is about a week long, and people from all over the country and the world are showing up for it, so I’m organizing a trip to Barton Springs for a picnic and swimming for those in attendance as well as our local community of teachers and students. It should be fun, the springs are amazing.

I also finally heard from the higher ups about my future in teacher training, and it works out pretty well for me. I won’t be leading a track in the fall, but I will be brought in to teach certain topics. What that means really is that I will teach anywhere from 12 to 20 hours in a 200 hour program in the topics that are most suited to me (western anatomy, yogic anatomy, languaging, assisting, and the art of adjustment), but will not teach every weekend…. I’ll get my weekends back! I’m excited about that because that means I can go camping or go out of town when I want to! yay!

more good news: a package arrived earlier this week, and it was a bunch of free goodies that I’d selected from Fresh cosmetics. I got a bunch of soaps, some Umbrian clay toothpaste, and sugar-based deodorant. Oooh yeah 🙂

If you haven’t seen Food Party on IFC, then you need to. It’s amazing! Tuesday nights, 10:15 CST.

dunk your cookie in this!

And now it’s time to order lunch… vegetarian club sammich, come to me!

Log in to write a note
June 18, 2009

I want to work for Fresh just so I can scoop up the loot! Jellis.

June 18, 2009

there’s a different dynamic among friends when you play sports together. can’t put my finger on it, but it IS a lot of fun.

Team sports with friends are awesome. I’m/I’ve doing/done dragonboating, hockey, soccer and slo-pitch. It’s keeping me pretty busy… RYN: Yeah, i’ve heard of that too, I wonder if it actually works?

Wow.. you have Swenson coming! That is so awesome!

June 18, 2009

yay for cosmetics! and i can’t believe another softball season is already over. 🙁