birthday weekend

dang, this weekend has been fun. and it isn’t even over…

Friday was my birthday, and I taught my morning classes and shared some cookies that I baked with those classes… and was surprised to receive a boatload of gifts from my students- books, desserts, cards, and even a giant R2D2 toy from the 70s. My students are awesome… I was moved to tears, and I let ’em flow. I mean- I work in a yoga center, it’s totally allowed in there 🙂

the yoga center gave me a gift certificate to a bead shop, and I went shopping there afterwards with one of the girls that works on the desk at the center (it was her birthday too!). She and I made some necklaces, and then bought some other things so that I could make a bracelet and some earrings for her. The necklace I made is getting loads of compliments… it’s a simple piece of red creek jasper on a leather cord with two brass beads along side it… simple and handsome. just like I like my men.

I saw the flounder (my roommate from a decade ago, whom I ADORE), and he gave me an awesome shirt (google ‘crazy baby eatin chicken’ and you’ll see it). Some peeps from work showed up at the bar we went to , and it was fun.

Saturday was a pool party where I was mildly fawned over. It was held at the house of some people that I’ve known for years, but only through my friends Jeremy and Joe…not really my friends. When J and J invited us over, I told them that I didn’t think those guys were very friendly, perhaps didn’t like me… he said that they did like me (backstory: they’re  a dom:sub couple, pretty big in the local leather community), and in fact think that I’m so attractive that they didn’t know how to even talk to me… weird. I mean, I think I’m cute, but I’m biased, and to hear that is a little weird. So I made a point of talking to them and totally breakin’ that ice. We’re going to hang out sometime soon for a wii sports game night.

We went out last night too, to see joe perform in drag. To a song called ‘what, what, in the butt’. good times! This was, of course, at the leather bar, where it was their annual boots and boxers party. Hot menz in undies everywhere. Niice. Gay men are so muscular and studiously unselfconscious, even though they’re totally selfconscious.

Now we’re going to have brunch, then we’re going to run a few errands before we head to the lake…. we haven’t been to Hippie Hollow in about 2 years, which is entirely too long. I’m totally going to make Rich stop and buy me a tuna sandwich from Thundercloud. Yum. I love how they take a jalapeno, cut the tip off, and drop the juice on the sammich. Fuckyeah, that’s gonna be a great sammich 🙂

Log in to write a note
July 20, 2008

happy birthday! sounds like an AWESOME weekend. and the jalapeno juice idea is killer!

Ooooo, happy b-day!!

July 20, 2008

Happy Birthday!!

July 20, 2008

happy happy birthday, glad you had a good day. 🙂 @};———–

July 20, 2008

gimme some babies!! Happy Birthday!

July 21, 2008

Happy belated, sweetie! => you can cry because you work at a yoga place <= that made me giggle.

July 21, 2008

happy belated b-day!!!

July 21, 2008

Happy Birthday!

July 26, 2008

it’s always fun to be fawned over at a pool party! happy birthday, my fellow summer birthday friend!