answers # 1 and #2

question: how did you get into doing makeup for a living?

It was one of the choices my guidance counselor gave me… the list was like "makeup artist, ribald 19th century poet, hockey player, and richard simmons".

Not really. I lived with drag queens and did their makeup using my watercolor brushes and was known around here for being really crazy with makeup. Trannyspeak lesson: don’t say ‘do my makeup’, say ‘beat my mug’ , or ‘bang my face’. Trust me, when people hear that you’re the best at bangin’ faces, you’ll get a reputation too.

Anywho… 10 years after that, I had a friend who I used to teach yoga with who visited from Dallas and kinda roped me into it. She actually set up an interview with the boss and me after I said no because she said "you’re the most fabulous man in Austin, WE NEED YOU". And I really like this job. Hooray. So yeah…

Drag queens + expensive watercolor brushes + pushy friends = me being a makeup artist.

 

It’s funny, I was offered a job with Chanel last night that I turned down… the makeup gig is my grown up job, I really consider myself to be a yoga teacher more than anything else.

 

and you know that sound a baloon makes when it’s full, and you pinch the ends of the neck of it and pull them taut and kinda squeaks? and then you let it go and it flies all farty around the room? That’s the sound that yellow makes.

and also… ‘flies all farty’ would be an awesome name for a band or perfume.

Log in to write a note
October 16, 2008

heeheehee thanks for sharing about getting into makeup.

October 16, 2008

That was totally my air band’s name in high school!! (not really, but that would be funny)

October 16, 2008

the makeup gig is my grown up job, I really consider myself to be a yoga teacher more than anything else. Interesting way to look at it. Ryn: that was the best note on the whole entry.

October 18, 2008

haha! flies all farty. I’m sitting here literally chuckling out loud. too much! ryn: a cookbook is something I never even thought of–that is a great idea!

October 19, 2008

When did you realize you’re gay? I was about 14-15 yrs old and I was like WTH!? lol

Chanel? I don’t see that being the right fit for you.

October 29, 2008

ryn: yes. i mention chihuly in the entry somewhere, btw.