a good _____ is hard to find, *edit

In this instance, the blank is filled with "hair stylist". I’ve been going to the same girl for about two years now, and she’s seen me through mohawks and faux hawks and textures, oh my! But lately I’ve been a little bored with my hair, and i happened to mention it to a student the other day. He has awesome hair, and I asked him who did his hair and could I get a card or something? He said he’d try… and after like a month told me that he couldn’t get an in with her because she’s super busy. Another student said "I own a salon, and I’d love to cut your hair", so we set up an appointment. Here’s a blurb about my student that I found on the internet when I googled his salon’s name:

Roar Salon: Spring comes in like a lion and out like a lamb making it a perfect time of year for Roar Salon to open up here in Austin. The salon is the newest creation of Rory M******, who has been in Chicago for the past seven years. It’s located in the Brazos Lofts on 5th Street in Downtown Austin right across from Eddie V’s. Rory is returning to his Hill Country roots with the launch of Roar. He made a name for himself nationally by coloring hair on FOX’s Ambush Makeover and TLC’s A Makeover Story.

He asked me what I wanted to do with my hair, and I just said I wanted something awesome. Actually, I said "I want something edgy, I’m tired of feeling that I have ‘safe’ hair, like someone’s dad." And he said he had an idea….

I walked out two hours later with a cut that is pretty awesome. He trimmed the sides, and kept the length of the top, but undercut it all along the edges to make my hair spike upwards… and then he bleached a thin-thin strip of blond from front to back all along the line that I usually part along. Not really a traditional highlight, just a kinda ‘hey look, i’m a streak’ kinda thing. I totally love it. i told him that I needed hair that would get noticed while at this national cosmetics event, and I think he pulled it off.

I’m fully aware of the hair style/OD rules… I must post pictures of said hairstyle if I’m raving about it… but I hate having to ask Rich to take pictures of things for me… he always kinda misses the things that I want to focus on. Like my tattoo sleeve, I ended upwith pictures of my T-shirt. So I’ll just wait until this weekend and then take lots of pictures and post those, okay? Okay.

** the student that cut my hair is the owner that’s mentioned, Rory. He’s really good, and totally worth what he charges. He wouldn’t let me pay for it, and that also rocks.

Log in to write a note

Agreed. BUT YOU OWE US. *glare*

April 30, 2008

Yeah… that same rule goes for babies and shoes I think…lol cut does sound like it is a good fit for you though.

April 30, 2008

hahaha – OD hair rules. heehee

April 30, 2008

yay for new hairstyles, can’t wait to see the pics though. 🙂 @};———

May 1, 2008

OD rules are that you can’t post an edgy haircut? Oh, no no..

May 2, 2008

yeah, the picture, put it up. and i thought the blank was going to be…. well, you know what i was thinking. 🙂