Yesterday

 

 

 

…I came back from a weeks holiday with my sister and my Ma. I have been up ‘north’  visiting family and gadding about the north east, visiting places i haven’t been to in years and also visiting a few new places.

I had a great time just relaxing, strolling about in the sunshine and enjoying the odd beer. I told one of my colleagues that the first little place we stayed in had 4 pubs but technically it didn’t-  it has one, the other are bars in hotels. I tend to think of pubs like that because in Scotland a lot of country pubs are attached to hotels as bars and I have never thought anything of it really. I will probably tell him tomorrow.

Apart from visiting pubs I did do some cultural things like visit castles, museums and go for walks on the moors… it was all good and I wish it hadn’t finished so quickly. As usual I spent a bit too much money, but to be honest it wasn’t a huge amount in the scheme of things, after all it was my holiday and I wanted to get nice things for my Ma and sister. The fact I spent lots of money on things for me- I am going to ignore

The weather was pretty lovely for most of the week, there was only one day where it rained a lot and we didn’t let it stop us from going out and investigating! I even managed to get burnt one day which is nothing to be proud of but kind of amusing considering the weather the UK gets most of the summer- I guess I a typical brit after all- get a bit over excited when I see the sun and forget just how pale I am and how easily I burn.

I am a little disappointed that I didn’t get any drawing done but I suppose it will keep for another time. I did manage to take a lot of pictures and I am really pleased how a few of them have turned out, I might even try and put some on here if I get the opportunity. I am bit sleepy now- going to work has taken it out of me! I shall try and write more soon.

Log in to write a note
June 10, 2008

Sounds like fun. I can’t speak for everyone, but I’d love to see some pictures. Why don’t you try drawing from some of them? My daughter, Bethany, and her husband are heading to Scotland in October to visit his folks. (After that, they are going to Spain.) They live in the south of the country, though, so they won’t have as nice scenery as you did. Try not to work too hard. Take care.

June 12, 2008

Yay, sounds like a great break 🙂

June 26, 2008

I would love to visit a castle. So far the only one I’ve seen in person is the fake one at Disney World, which doesn’t count, at all.