Courage, Wisdom & Serenity

Before you read too much and wonder what this is about, it is like many things I write – a bit of a ramble about this and that.

It is funny how after a break from OD it kind of reels you back in. I think part of it must be a bit of a nosey nature. Like, I can’t help but look in a window if the curtains are open at night time. Not because I want to see something I shouldn’t but more because I like to see a happy family sat down to dinner or admire their living room- just silly stuff like that.

In the same way, I enjoy reading about people. I suppose what people often consider the minutiae of life often makes for the most fascinating read, just a slice of life a moment in their day. If they speak about something small with a note of happiness – I find it quite uplifting. Often you find people writing with a great deal of passion about a subject, a person or an event that means a lot to them or perhaps it that event that makes them write here in the first place. I think OD is a great place to have a valve, a place to vent like that when you aren’t quite sure who the hell you should discuss something with but you know you need to get it out of your system and perhaps a word or two of advice would be nice. I think that is why I started my diary- at a time when rather a large and unsettling event happened in my life and I just needed a place where I could say what I felt right at that moment without being judged unfairly or with preconceived ideas.

I have changed an awful lot since I started my journal- I feel I am far more content in my own skin. I don’t feel the need to justify the hows or the whys to myself in quite the same way as I did when I was younger. I think I have learned to appreciate what is there – just for what it is. It is good to be inquisitve and question things on occasion, but it also serves one well to sometimes just accept things for what they are. A wise man put it better than I can:

"God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference."

Log in to write a note