yeah, but… i’m not actually a WRITER…

I got a phone call yesterday from a major NYC theatre company offering me a commision to write a play.

No… you are NOT in the wrong diary.

It’s an annual competition for plays about science and scientists, and my proposal was selected to receive a development grant.

Yeah… holy fuck.

I always do these things and then wind up with “buyer’s remorse” over them. “Oh yay! My application got accepted…. oh… oh… shit.” So now I’ve gotta spend one day a week this semester working on my play. Do you hear that?? Working on my PLAY. Like I’m not enough of an elistist snob fuck as it is. “Sorry… can’t talk now… have to go work on my PLAY… I’m an artisté, don’t you know!”. Jesus.

D.

Log in to write a note
January 10, 2004

eeeeeeeeeeek!! awesome! it’ll be great, i’m sure. i’ll be hearing your (real) name on broadway one day, non?

any more excitement to this and you may have an aneurism… {evil grin}

January 11, 2004

Congratulations…. Yeah. Hugs and Gooooooooooooood Luck! *grins*

January 12, 2004

How very cool! Congratulations!

ryn Presque Isle … my brain says “Maine”, though it could be wrong. Something to do with the revolutionary war or that 1812 one, or some such. 😉

January 13, 2004

re: the above dop note… I flipped when I read her entry because there’s a Presque Isle county like… 30 minutes from me. & that’s just such an unusual name… anyway. you are SO a writer… and a rather good one, my dear friend… I’d really not still be reading you if you weren’t. Honest. Ok, now that I’ve fluffed you up with ego boosting. I want another “almost totally fiction.” 😀

January 15, 2004

Quite exciting!

January 20, 2004

That’s pretty funny. Now Get to work!!!!

http://www.npr.org/rundowns/segment.php?wfId=1617845 Blah! Grover, the insane anti-tax zealot. According to Grover, you see, taxing people is a human rights violation — that is, looting people just because they have money is the same reasoning that allowed the Holocaust. His thoughts, not mine.