that’s the news and i am outta here…

I TiVo’d the new Dennis Miller show on CNBC last night, and watched it today. And what I’ve discovered is this – if you take Dennis Miller and take away the “funny” and put him in charge of a news show, what you wind up with is an obnoxious Libertarian prick, and an excruciating hour of television. Even during the little middle section where he comments on the news in the style of his old SNL news or his HBO show… without a studio audience even the GOOD jokes fall flat, and the BAD ones hit the floor with an embarrassing THUD and a trickle of nervous laughter from the crew. Painful.

And that’s not even to mention that his politics have drifted far enough to the right that I no longer agree with much of what he says. Shit, if I want to watch somebody unfunny spout politics that I disagree with, I’ll watch the fucking O’Reilly Factor or something.

The Doc’s advice…? For fake news that is topical AND funny… stick with “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart”.

D.

Log in to write a note
January 28, 2004

That’s disappointing. I loved Dennis Miller. *spits*

Poor, poor Dennis. I noticed his HBO show swinging right — sounds like the transition is complete (i.e., his money is safe offshore). Perhaps irate ex-fans should give Dennis an intervention.

February 3, 2004

I should buy stock in Little Tykes, I have enough of it, and I’m sure over the years I’ll accuire more for the day care. That’s only half of our back yard and that picture doesn’t even cover half of that half. We’re on a corner double lot. We fenced half the back yard for the play yard and the rest is unfenced for us. Mowing is a bitch, but otherwise it’s really nice to have all the space. We’ve

February 3, 2004

had 2 weddings and one reception in our backyard.

February 3, 2004

acquire

February 10, 2004

Thanks for your notes. I appreciate them. I have thought about what you said, But it’s just not me. Thank you so much for reading. ~smiles~