many worlds…

one interpretation of the probabilistic nature of quantum mechanics is that at every branching point where a subatomic event can have more than one outcome, the universe in essence “splits” into two or more universes… one for each outcome, so that every possibility is realized in some parallel universe… producing a near infinity of alternate realities that exist side by side.

one wonders if the physicist who came up with this theory ever stood behind a woman with his mouth no more than a centimeter away from her neck, and if his theory provides any consolation when he reflects on all the things he did not do in that moment.

Log in to write a note
April 30, 2007

*smirk* (I like to see you poking about here more these days 🙂

September 10, 2007

I wonder where a few of my branches went.. and how I can bend the one I’m on now enough to find out.