consulting… adulting…

One of the condtions of this new hire was an $800/day three-days-a-week consulting arrangement between now and July 1… getting things ready for this new science initiative. Part of that process involves helping to hire three new science faculty or the school. They sent me the CV of someone yesterday as a potential 9th grade science teacher with strong ties to the science academy – including extensive experience coaching a pretty successful robotics-competition teams, something I want to get going at the school really quickly. And my reaction upon seeing this woman’s background and her success with teaching robotics and engineering was not “Oh, she would be great for the program”, but rather…

“But, *I* wanted to coach the robotics team and play with the robots 🙁 🙁 🙁 ”

I think the hardest part of being an administrator may be delegating the FUN jobs to someone else. I’m not used to a job where I have to be an adult. College professoring is a sort of extended adolescence… your life schedule is still built around semesters and summer breaks. The last time I (briefly) had a job where I had to go to work 12 months out of the year, I HATED IT.

I think I’m gonna have to grow up a little in order to earn the Big Boy Money I’m about to be getting paid.

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 29, 2012

*itch itch itch* The grown-up sweater is very tight & scratchy. The “I want to play with robots” makes me laugh.