aawk, aawk…

My 4 year old daughter K was playing in the back yard the other day, and she came running to the screen door while my wife J. and I were in the kitchen…

K: “Mommy, Daddy… guess what?! I just saw a bird and guess what kind it was?! It was an EAGLE!

J: “Honey, I don’t think it was an eagle.”

K: “Yes it was! It went ‘aaawk-awwk’!! ”

J: “Sweetie, I think it was probably a crow.”

K: “NO IT WASN’T! It was an EEE-GALLL”

J: “Ok, sweetie… maybe it was.”

(pause)

K: “It was white…”

J: “Ok, honey.”

(pause)

D: “Honey, do you mean ‘SEAGULL’??”

K: (matter of factly) “Yeah… a seagull.”

J: “Oooooooohhhhh….”

D: “Yes, honey… it was probably a seagull”

K: “Yeah… (pause) …they rhyme.”

D: “Yes, honey… they kind of do rhyme.”

Now, when does the other one get that cute?

D.

Log in to write a note
April 21, 2003

Aaaaw, lol, that’s so cute. Got to hand it to the kids who say those cute things… You should rant it’s good for the soul. RYN: Yeah, I had a girl to make over my diary. I don’t know why I guess I just wanted to change things around. But I am in the process of changing it back to what it was like before. BTW thanks for the notes, it was much appreciated.

“Covering your ass” must be a genetic human trait. 🙂

April 21, 2003

*g*

April 21, 2003

*L* That’s adorable. They have to be cute occassionally so we won’t throttle them, y’know.

April 21, 2003

thanks for the note. 🙂 you daughter sounds adorable.

heeheheh that is so cute!