our best night, my favorite memory.

Couples are everywhere.

Most times I just look away when I see them walking, 

but with family, you’re sort of stuck…. you have to see people interact.

It’s not that it bothers me the way it used to, but, if one member of the couple does something like what he used to do….

Or what I used to do with him… 

I lose consciousness and slip into the movie memory.

So often now I doubt the truth behind our relationship.

The shadows of doubt covering up that you were my sun.

You had a way with words, and I so easily slipped under your spell.

But actions…. actions are the only thing I have left to believe in….

And yesterday, I got a memory pulled from long ago…. one I haven’t seen in months.

My favorite memory of you and me, so simple I often forget it.

Not words, the look in your eye, or one of your hopeless promises.

It was the simplest of gestures.

That night in the cheap hotel.

Moon seeping through the curtains onto the bed we shared.

I was lying next to you…. and for some reason I rolled away from the boy I adored.

To the cool refreshment of the empty half.

Moments later… you slid toward me.

Chilled skin ignited by the warmth you seem to always carry.

Your arm curled easily around my ribcage… a perfect fit.

Your hot breath falling onto my ear… our bodies entangled into one.

Words can lie.

Actions hold truth.

And this modest gesture holds so much meaning to me.

And a hope, left as question.
 

Were we as real for you as we felt to me?

 

Log in to write a note
July 27, 2010

I almost didn’t recognize you on my friends list cause you changed your profile pic heh, cute btw. I just wanted to note you to let you know I got to stay an extra week here in new orleans since my work took a vacation this week. There was no point to go back last saturday when i wouldn’t be making money anyway. I do miss talking to you and i hope to talk when i get back. Hope you’re doing well.

July 27, 2010

lovely writing. I love the ending question. I’ll try to catch up more when i get home. Take care!

July 28, 2010

RYN: Thanks 🙂 Really looking forward to talking to you again. Goodluck with the surgery! Let me know how things go.

July 31, 2010

Ah, the reality of touch. Actions versus words. The endless uncovering of what appearances offer and what words provide.. there is always such a difficulty in the discovery of what is truth. In the end, I think the only real moments are the ones we know we created. The rest is just a mixture of belief, hope, and trust. Love the new profile picture by the way!

August 3, 2010

Haven’t heard from you in a while. Hope you’re doing alright. I wish you were online. I could use someone to talk to so maybe I could keep from worrying about Brian so much. Well I hope to hear from you soon.