feeling free

I unzip the black cloth bag, revealing something so simple… yet something I already hold close to my heart.

The guitar shines brilliantly, even in a room with no lights.

Dark wood body… black neck. Perfect.

The strings are rusted from years and years without attention, and the smell is odd — it spent too long wrapped out.

The rust tells a story, and the smell is strangely comforting… truly mine.

I’ve just started playing… and I’ve literally fallen in love. With the guitar in my hand, everything else fades to black.

Pain and sadness are nothing but a distant memory.

I strum back and forth, back and forth, trying to find my own rhythm. It doesn’t sound too good, I know… but I love it all the same.

I’ll get there… Better in time, with each day I’ll play a bit more and a bit more… and soon… we’ll be one.

Music has been a part of me for as long as I can remember, and now, it’s building into my future. But it always lies dormant in my heart.

My hands hold something I would have never thought to be so sacred.

Music is pumping through my veins, alive for the first time, igniting feelings long lost…

My body is exploding with motivation, passion, drive, inspiration

I close my eyes, lost in the sound… I’ve never felt more free.

 

** I want to add to this, make it better. It didn’t come out how I wanted it too… just need to get all that down to start.

 

Log in to write a note
June 11, 2010

Glad you’ve found something to be passionate about.

June 11, 2010

Ah, I don’t blame you for wanting to play. How are you with the guitar in hand? Do you use your fingers or a pick? How did this not come out as intended? Best of luck with the inspiration. 🙂

June 13, 2010

There really is no worse feeling as a writer or probably an artist of any genre than wanting so badly to properly convey how you feel and to pour it out.. And not have it fulfill your expectations. Keep at it. It shall come to you. Thank you for the birthday wishes and the song:)