Echo

 Day is gone.

The only time when I can breathe and smile without feeling heavy and fake.

Without hands clenching my neck, suffocating me.

Without this feeling in my chest.

And a sinking in my heart.

Night has come, and even on my most favorite of nights… with thunder and lightning to keep my terrors away…

This darkness is still all consuming.

A loneliness that I can’t escape. 

I succumb to the temptation of memories…

Of someone caring, someone loving me.

Of a warm embrace, and a sweet kiss.

A gentle caress, and a cocky smile.

 

Everyone else is home with the ones they love.

And I’m all alone…

The way I always am these days.

I remember what a relationship was like, one in particular.

And I can’t even imagine having it again.

I’m so trapped in this that I don’t know what to do anymore…

All I want is to have someone who cares.

Someone to hold me and tell me it’ll be ok.

To tell me that I’m beautiful, and that I mean the world.

 

I miss mattering, to someone. 

I miss love, and feeling like I have something more to live for.

 

I just can’t do this anymore. 

I can’t stay trapped in the past because all it does is ache when dawn breaks…

and yet it’s all that comforts me when the stars own the sky.

 

Log in to write a note
December 25, 2011

Comfort is found in the darkest nights and in the brightest lights. There exists no greater discovery than that which is within. Finding the place where you can embrace that side of you and marry it to the exterior world.. well, there you shall find happiness. Echo on these tracers of love and loss.. They make the stand all the more joyous when all is done. Merry Christmas to you dear!