Talkin All that Jazz….

I was just reading a message from one of my Open Diary friends…..I found out that we both love Jazz, especially Billie Holiday. I am only 30…which maybe old to some people, but I can not find anyone my age that likes Jazz music. Not even people that I know! The friends that I have tell me that Jazz is so BORING and it puts them to sleep!! Now don’t get me wrong, I love all kinds of music…hip hop, RandB, Rock, Alternative, 80’s. and even some country. (I said SOME!!) But I feel that Jazz justs puts you in a relax mode….it’s easy going, and even romantic. I just love how jazz makes me feel! But it’s sad to hear people say that Jazz sucks!!  Back in the days…like in the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s, Jazz music was so popluar. Not that it isn’t now. But you had all kinds of popular jazz artist like Miles Davis, Charlie Parker, John Coltrain, and others. They were mainstream!

Nowadays we have hip hop music that only focuses on bling bling, how many cars they have, how many "hoes" they can get. And don’t let me start on hip hop videos!!  And even some rock music that I hear even sucks. There are no real melodys being played like back in the day. Where is the talent?? And they are not even talking about anything. Yuck!! I feel that the music industries need a big fat ENEMA to wash out all the shit they have out and bring back real music with meaning!! I wish hip hop and rap music can go back to the 80’s and early 90’s with groups like A tribe called quest, De La Soul, even Eric B .

OH Well…I feel a lot better getting that off my chest. I will always be a big Jazz fan. Infact, I am going to a Jazz club for my Birthday!!! The big 31!!! (Feb. 22) !!!

OK..let me run. I gotta each some lunch….

Later Days….

DeeJ

Log in to write a note
January 11, 2006

Your entry has inspired me to give it a try! I love music and I’m actually excited about listening. Any suggestions?

January 11, 2006

I like the OLD jazz – like you mentioned – not the new crap. I worked at a jazz station in college – and I only liked the old stuff. Anything after like 1970 sucked – so I tuned out. And I, myself – LOVE big band – all smoky and stuff. So don’t feel bad – adn you are NOT old – I am 31! hugs jen

January 11, 2006

i think people will come around to it…its very peaceful..and the music industry is always changing…trying to mix old school with new school?? i guess…oh i know it..i cant find anyone around me who likes that kind of music..but im only 19 :P… take care <3<3..

January 11, 2006

I’d have to agree that most of the new stuff they call “music” these days lacks talent, originality, and likeability. My hubby is a HUGE jazz fan and I’ve learned to like it over the years myself. I like most music, except for maybe rap and the sort, and am a big fan of the oldies/classics. We almost named our son Miles Davis! And your not old, I’ll be 30 soon myself! Hope you have a great bday!