Fight technology with fire.

So, this winter has been getting cold, but it hasn’t been anything too bad.

The thermostat in our house is set on some programmed schedule. We haven’t really worried about it too much until last night. But by then it was too late.

Last night it was Ten degrees in Salt Lake City. Just in case you are wondering, that’s really REALLY fucking cold. I mean, so cold that I think I gave up smoking. Or at least thought about smoking in the house.

Anyway, we have been trying to figure out the god damn thermostat, but the instructions on it don’t really offer much. I think we made it worse. By the time 9:00 pm had rolled around, we could pretty much see our breath in our house. We tried looking up the instruction manual online, but we couldn’t find the god damn model number anywhere, and most of the online manuals offered about as much help as the actual Thermostat itself.

We were fucking freezing. We got it to the point where the temperature rose a few degrees, and luke-warm air was blowing out in some places, but still. It’s a big house, and we needed some superior heat.

My two roomates sleep upstairs, which was pretty cold, but my room is in the basement…which is extremely cold. So there was no way in hell I was sleeping down there. I actually went to the upstairs floor and it was just about as cold as the basement. The middle floor was about the only place with any sort of heat, mostly because we decided to turn the oven in the kitchen on for a while.

Finally, we came up with a genius idea.

We went to the grocery store, we bought firewood and a Dura-flame log, came home, ripped up a few city weekly’s, opened up the fireplace, and we started a fucking fire bitches!

It was actually really fun.

All three of us in the living room, plus the dog and the cat, tons of blankets everywhere, sipping on some beers, smoking a few bowls, watching "Troll Hunter" followed by "Rocko’s Modern Life". Had Big Daddy’s (Which is a 24 hour pizza place here in SLC) deliver a huge ass pizza and some wings…and basically just survived the night.

 

…I am happy to say that since then, we seem to have figured out the heat problem. I think.

I hope.

It’s warm enough today, I guess we will just see what happens when night rolls around.

 

…at least we have more wood.

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 6, 2011

“I AM THE CHEESE, I AM THE BEST CHARACTER, I AM BETTER THAN BOTH THE SALAMI AND THE BOLOGNA COMBINED”. Epic line from Filbert. I was essentially raised by the tv as a kid. Thermostat instructions are always so ass backwards.

December 6, 2011

Let this be a lesson to you… survival skills are key. You should have been prepared and had the logs already in stock bitchness! Yeah! I gotta fire up my wood stove soon. When it is that cold outside, forget smoking cigs. I won’t smoke indoors, it’s super nasty, so to hell with smoking. It doesn’t even feel good anymore when it’s that cold. And hi, 24 hour pizza place? Wtf.

December 6, 2011

PS. Fireside smoke session, also key.

December 7, 2011

We have no fireplace, but I have informed my roommate that his closet becomes forfeit in the event of an emergency.

January 12, 2012

Dude, come join us in the future. It still sucks, but theres no you.