WW Week 4 Weigh-in and other fun stuff!

Hello lovelies!

First, the business…this week showed a loss of 1.2 lbs, No 10 lb star for me yet, but I did lose 9 lbs in January and that makes me extremely happy. My hope was to lose 8-10 lbs per month, so I’d say the first month of the year was a success. Hooray!

In other news, I completed the Big D Climb! 52 flights of stairs in the Fountain Place building. The climb was ultimately a success, but it wasn’t without issues. Myself and another teammate are asthma geeks and we got our asses kicked when we reached the middle floors. There was virtually no air in the stairwells, so good ol’ wheezing and lung burning decided to join the party. I kept my inhaler use to a minimum to avoid tossing my cookies. We decided to slow our pace and take mini-breaks after every 3-4 floors. At one point, I offered a fireman (who was climbing in full gear as part of the First Responders team) $50 for a hit off his oxygen tank. He laughed, but I wasn’t kidding. I have no shame! LOL

Just when I questioned if I was going to be able to push through the asthma issues, I reach the 25th floor and see this poster:

I was shocked! Everyone on my team noted they were climbing to honor Angel when we registered, but I had no idea that the organization would be hanging posters throughout the stairwells to honor those who fought and are still fighting. Needless to say, I got very emotional, but I also found the strength to continue. While some may think the poster placement was coincidence, I firmly believe that Angel knew I’d need a kick in the azz once I got to the middle of this crazy climb.

Around floor 40, I begin to feel a breeze and my lungs started to relax. Believe it or not, the last part of the climb was easier than the beginning/middle. The teammates that finished before us came back downstairs to cheer us on to the end. I can’t tell you how happy I was to cross the finish line and slap 5 with the EMT (and thank Sweet Baby Jesus that I didn’t need him during the event lol). Look what greeted me at the finish:

Another poster for Angel…I love it! I informed Angel’s parents that we were doing this event in her honor. The funny thing is that her Mom had a few friends also doing the event and her phone was blowing up on Saturday due to Angel poster sightings. Her parents have pledged to the do the event with us next year. 🙂

I was very proud of myself for finishing this task. My legs were super tired afterwards, but I still managed to attend my friend’s birthday part that night (and belted out an inspiring version of Bohemian Rhapsody with Chesty!) and celebrate the Wonder Twins 3rd birthday the following day. Busy life, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Next up for me will be the Hot Chocolate Race on 2/12 and The Color Run on 2/19. How could I not be a part of this:

Log in to write a note
February 1, 2012

Woohoo!!! Congratulations!!!

February 1, 2012

Congrats!!!

February 1, 2012

Very, very impressive.

That’s awesome, congrats on finishing!! I’ve always wanted to do one of those climbs, but they terrify me. I would probably die by floor 5 😉

February 1, 2012

Ok, crying now. That is pretty awesome.

February 1, 2012

How great!!!!! WooHoo!!!

February 2, 2012

you are freakin’ amazing! just a Diva all the way. Congrats on the weight loss, the Climb (I nearly pass out if I have to take the stairs to the 6th floor of the parking garage so hats of to you!) I cannot wait till the Color Run so I can meet you in person!!!

February 2, 2012

All I have to say is WOW! You are an inspiration and you are added to my bookmarks. You’ve inspired me today! Thank you! Keep up the awesome work.

February 3, 2012

Well done, stairs are so challenging, can’t imagine I could do 52 flights!

February 4, 2012

You are a good woman…that was a big climb. The individual signs would be very encouraging. A nine pound loss is a very impressive way to start the year.

February 7, 2012

Congrats, C! And I cannot believe that the boys are THREE already!!! 🙂