Who is Paleo and why is he taking my snacks away?

Hey Lovelies!

Once again…thank you for the support during this crazy time. It truly means a lot to me. I had no idea so many of you had autoimmune diseases too. The desire for feedback (and some warm fuzzies) is the only reason I didn’t keep this to myself…besides, y’all are family. <–was that Texan enough for ya?

Soooo…I mentioned that I planned to make some nutritional changes due to my diagnosis. After discussing details with Donna (my bike/nutrition/triathlon sensei) and the rheumy doctor, I’ve decided to jump into the Paleo world. I’ll let Robb Wolf explain: What is the Paleo Diet?

I have decided to do this way of eating hardcore for 30 days. During this time, I will keeping a journal for weight/appetite changes, energy level, sleep patterns,desire to stab an innocent person for a cookie, and my RA symptoms. I realize that Paleo is truly a way of life, so I intend to follow the principles from here on out. I am stressing the first 30 days because that will be the most difficult, but I should see some major changes during this time. I say "hardcore" to indicate I will be following the Paleo concept religiously. After the first month, I may experiment with adding certain items and trying various recipes that have been ‘Paleo-fied", but it’s all about the basics right now.

My rheumatologist suggested the diet because it essentially eliminates foods that are proven to cause inflammation and aggravate folks with AI diseases (along with a host of other conditions). The fact that my doctor has RA herself gives me additional faith in her recommendation. I realize that not everyone’s body is the same, so this will definitely be a journey of discovery.

With that said, I went Paleo today and I feel good about my decision. I know the next couple of weeks will be a challenge, but I am up for it. I believe that everything happens for a reason…and this was supposed to be part of my personal journey. I now have more motivation to get my body to the healthiest place possible and I am determined to keep a positive attitude.

Hope everyone is having a fabulous week,
C

Log in to write a note
May 9, 2012

So what did you get to eat today? I just don’t know how to get started.

May 9, 2012

xoxo

May 9, 2012

Excellent…I have been eating primally for about 55 days, lost about 16 lbs, no more headaches, no more gas (sorry, TMI), no more PMS…all of it, poof, gone.

May 9, 2012

Don’t know if you read Charis here on OD but she and her husband have been eating primally since the first of the year. They are really into it now. I’ve tried to stick to it but I miss the dairy. My son has a good friend and his whole family has been totally Paleo for several years now and they look & feel terrific. Good luck to you. Sometimes switching it up is a really good thing to do. There is a website called MarksDailyApple.com that I like to read.

May 10, 2012

I didn’t know that about Paleo and inflammatory foods. I knew about Paleo before from when I used to do Crossfit. Crossfit people seem rather obsessed with it, in a good way. But then again, fitness and nutrition is a bit of a religion for them, so perhaps you’ve chosen your words quite well above. Best of luck! —

May 13, 2012

I have some friends on Paleo with good results. Wishing you the best and looking forward to following your journey!

So proud of you girl! 🙂 So proud. D