Stats ‘n Survey…

First, the stats…

Down a pound at weigh-in this week. I think I’m just destined to slowly make my way out of the 200s. I guess that will make me appreciate my arrival into ONEDERLAND that much more, eh?

A question for other big girls losing weight:

Have you noticed that as you get smaller, some bigger women tend to get a little catty? I’m not talking about the “thin bitch” look…because Lord knows I will never be that small. But it is a look…hard to explain…but some of you know what I’m talking about. I’m very observant and it seems that attitiudes have changed now that I’m reaching for the smallest size in LB instead of the largest. I even notice it in some of the sales associates. Almost like a few of them feel I don’t really belong in the store. I knew the ‘tude existed for petite women that ventured into plus size stores. Chesty has experienced major rudeness when she comes shopping with me. Some of the women won’t even look at her and acknowledge her presence. Anyway, I’m amused because I never thought I’d experience this form of “reverse” discrimination. LOL As the great poet P. Diddy said, “You can hate me now…but I won’t stop now…”

 

Survey says…

1. What is the last book you read? Addicted by Zane (sex scenes are the bomb! *fanning myself*) Also finished up The Solomon Sisters Wise Up by Melissa Senate.

2. Last movie you saw at the theater? Bad Santa…LOL I still laugh when I think about it.

3. List the must-have CDs in your collection…
The Brandenburg Concertos-Bach
Songs in the Key of Life-Stevie Wonder
The Very Best of the Manhattan Transfer
Crash-Dave Matthews Band
The Chronic-Dr Dre
Low End Theory-A Tribe Called Quest
Who is Jill Scott?
The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill
Fumbling Towards Ecstasy-Sarah McLachlan
Earth,Wind & Fire-Greatest Hits
Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness-Smashing Pumpkins

4. Guilty pleasure TV show? LOL Probably Degrassi: The New Generation. What can I say? I like Canadian drama…almost more than Canadian bacon…teehee

5. Song that is stuck in your head right now…This Love by Maroon 5

6. Movies that you can watch over and over? Friday, The Parent Trap (the original), Sound of Music, Pulp Fiction, Finding Nemo, Harry Potter (Sorceror’s Stone and C.O.S.), Office Space, Pretty Woman, Beaches, The Best Man, Sister Act, Steel Magnolias, Ocean’s Eleven

7. Favorite movie lines?
You wasted $150,000 on an education you coulda got for $1.50 in late fees at the public library.-Matt Damon in Good Will Hunting
Go sell crazy somewhere else. We’re all stocked up here.-
Jack Nicholson in As Good As It Gets
My colors are Blush and Bashful. Pink is my signature color.-
Julia Roberts in Steel Magnolias

8. Favorite TV shows… Sopranos, Six Feet Under, Sex and the City, What Not To Wear (British version), Soul Food, Dead Like Me, Carnivale, Girlfriends, CSI

9. Favorite Actors… James Gandolfini, Denzel Washington, Tom Hanks

10. Favorite Actresses… Angela Bassett, Edie Falco, Debra Messing, Renee Zellweger


 

Log in to write a note
January 15, 2004

Um, next time you are out shopping, and not at Old Navy, you know, um, try like, going to like JC Penney or something, to the MISSES department. I have a feeling LB will be “losing” you as a customer, ya know? I think it’s time to WALK away from LB. But yes, I do know that “look,” that you are talking about. Some of those catty women will try to tempt you, be prepared.

Hold your head high : ) LOL, congrats on the pound.

Oh my GOD!! We must be sisters/cousins!!! I love all of your CDs plus my favorite movies are: The Color Purple, The Sound of Music, Friday and The Other Sister!! I love you Courtney and believe me I’m not a hater. Actually, I’m a sister that love to uplift others, especially other sisters. Smooches…

Woo Hoo for Canadian Drama! Degrassi started about 15 years ago, with Kids of Degrassi Street, Degrassi Junior High, Degrassi High, and now Degrassi – The new Gen. That is your Canadian lesson for today!! lolol – What can I saw Courtney, Love all your entries!! – Jackie

January 16, 2004

Congrats!!!

I know exactly what you are talking about! I experienced the same thing at LB, when I went from a size 24 to 14, and then there 14’s got too big for me. I went to LB for my mom, and the sales person asked me, “Is this for you..because its too big!” I looked at her and smiled. Now this is the same person who used to ‘boost’ my head with confidence when I was a 24. Crazy! I’m in the NBC..Lost 2.2lbs

Not only that. I’ve had women who seem irritated with me because I have an hourglass shape (just a large hourglass) rather than an “apple” shape. If I knew them, or cared, I’d explain that it makes shopping more difficult and that I hate my hips as much as they hate their waists, but I doubt it would do any good. Everyone needs someone to resent, I guess.

I have definitely noticed that as well, I am a size 14 in LB and the ones in Missouri are notorious for the LOOK if you aren’t at least an 18 you get no smiles here!!! Tontoy

January 16, 2004

OY I hate “the look”. Now I wonder how many times -I- gave that look out while I was working at LB. I’ll be so thrilled when I can finally by bras as Vickie’s and leave LB in the lurch for good. The thing I hate is that I still get the other look from people in the skinny stores, like when I go to Ann Taylor Loft and the size -2’s look at me like I’m a martian… I can’t wait to go in…(cont)

January 16, 2004

wearing my size 14 Ann Taylor hoochie jeans and tell them “SEE!!!! SEE!!!! FAT GIRL WEARING YOUR CLOTHES!!! MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!” But then, I’m odd 🙂

January 16, 2004

Being treated crappy by service staff isn’t the most pleasant side effect of your hard work. Don’t let it get to you.

January 16, 2004

I was going to say what Haddie said… beware of those who will try to sabotage you ’cause they’re just jealous. You’re lookin’ fantastic. I bet it’ll be so awesome to be in onederland AND shoppin’ in the Ann Taylor stores of the world.–

January 20, 2004

I am finding a co worker who is chunky, making nice comments, but I some how get that vibe. Basically they would rather we fall backwards. This time of year is so boring to begin with it is tempting to slack off.

Oh!!! My favorite movie is Beaches!!!