08/17/2010

Hey Folks…

I know it’s been awhile since I’ve been on here. I have a lot to say, but no desire to truly write at this point. I will let you guys know that I had to put Bentley down last night. He was fine last week, but started having issues with walking this past weekend and despite the house being cool, he couldn’t stop panting. Later in the weekend, he showed a reluctance to eat/drink. I got home yesterday from work and carried him to the backyard. At this point, he could no longer stand on his own and just laid down in the grass.

Making the decision to put him to sleep was the hardest thing I’ve done in my 32 years. I always promised that when the time came, I would not keep him alive for my own selfish reasons. Animals seem to downplay their illness/pain for the benefit of their owner. I truly believe he held on for me yesterday and as a responsible "Mommy", it was my job to ease his pain and give him peace.

Chesty and I took him to the emergency animal clinic last night. He was in pretty bad shape when we arrived and they immediately put him in a room to get an IV started. I can’t begin to tell you how it felt to have him delivered to me in a blanket, say my goodbyes and hold his paw while the drugs were administered. Animal lovers know that our pets are members of the family. I am grieving today and feeling a major sense of loss. I got Bentley when I was 19 years old. He essentially helped me through the awkward phase after high school and the ups/downs of my 20s and early 30s. 14 years is a long, glorious life for a dog and I am thankful that Bentley chose me.

Bentley
 May 15, 1996 – August 16, 2010

site meter

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 17, 2010

I’m so very sorry to hear about Bentley!!! Prayers sent [hugs]

I am so, so, so sorry. He sounds like he was an amazing dog. Big hugs.

August 17, 2010
August 17, 2010

oh my gosh, I’m so sorry. THat’s just really sad.

I’m so sorry.

August 17, 2010

*hug* I am so sorry to hear about this. He sounds like he was wonderful and I’m sure you did the right thing, even though it’s incredibly painful. —

August 17, 2010

I’m so sorry. I just can’t imagine…. (((hugs)))

I have never left you a note – but have read you for a long time. My heart goes out to you. I respect you so much that you were there for him in his last moments. You are a good Mama.

August 17, 2010

I’m so so sorry!!! :(….

August 17, 2010

I am so, so sorry. *gentle hugs*

August 17, 2010

oh god. *hugs*

August 17, 2010

I’m sorry to read this. He looks like a fantastic dog.

I am so very sorry to hear of your loss. God Bless you for being such a wonderful mommy to Bentley. ((((hugs)))

August 18, 2010

Oh I’m sorry honey – am sure he’s smiling down on you from doggie heaven…you did the unselfish thing. Hugs…

((Hugs)) I am so sorry

August 18, 2010

Omg, I am SOOOOOOOO SORRY.

August 18, 2010

I am so sorry for your loss. Take care. Tracey

August 21, 2010

I’m very sorry for your loss.

August 26, 2010

awww sis I’m so sorry to hear about bentley My prayers are with you at this time.

🙁 i hope you find peace knowing he is no longer in pain or suffering but i know it’s soo soo tough when losing a pet. sending u my prayers. -minacakes

I keep coming back to your post and each and every time I break down when I read it (I too am a pet owner and animallover). What an adorable doggie Bentley was. You did such an unselfish thing — and yes you did ease his pain and gave him the peace he deserved. Bentley could not have asked for a better mommy.

September 6, 2010

🙁 Im so sorry sweetie!