Nailbiter’s Anonymous, please …

I think somehow that the hassle of finding a place to live has either gotten tougher since I first went to college, or I’ve just forgotten how much of a pain in the ass it truly is.

I spoke with CJ the other day, and it seems his final day here is going to April 20th, even though the expected start date in Parksville will still be May 8th. That being said, one might expect that having a potential window of when I should expect to be technically laid off (that is the procedure for the transfer of the store–the old retailer lays off everyone and the new one hires back the ones he or she wishes to keep), as well as a firm start date in Parksville, that everything should be easier … HA! I wish. i know have less time to find a place, and if I’ve gained any ground, it has been minimal.

I looked at a map of the area, and it seems that the Parksville-Qualicum campus of Malaspina is literally only a couple blocks away from the store (which, subsequently, CJ has told me has a view of the ocean right out the front door!). Malaspina may be beneficial to me in more ways than one …

I emailed Malaspina tonight asking for a student housing list, since I know that is how I managed to locate housing when I started at Douglas College … if a list is available, it may be a huge asset in finding something within walking or biking distance (curse not having a car!) … however, I’m hoping that in the long run, Malaspina having a location in Parksville may present even greater opportunity than just a housing registry …

Having gone over the course list offered on the page for the Nanaimo campus, it appears that Malaspina also has a fairly decent music program–perhaps I can transfer my credits from Douglas College to Malaspina and piece my GPA back together a course at a time … perhaps … but that has to be left further down on the list of things to do.

The next month or so is going to be crazy, with CJ wanting me to come in on certain days to do training, while I still work my normal 4-and-4 on night shift (thank God that the position in Parksville would remove me from graveyard–that shift is HELL). In addition to that, I have to face the daunting, nerve-shredding task of finding a place, and whatever I get, I have to risk taking it sight-unseen …

UGH

Faith is a must right now …

Log in to write a note