the amazing hybrid goth-christian-nerd girl

No wonder I clique-hopped so much in high school. Here’s a poem I just found that I wrote when I was 16, dated Good Friday, 1999.

(Clearly I missed out on a brilliant career as a praise chorus writer. If only I’d played the guitar.)

The gods of Egypt had their deaths.
Their grieving worshippers and slaves
Left bodies emptied of their breaths
In rich, sweet-smelling, airless graves.

The Caesars die; patricians weep
And let them lie in rotting state.
The brains that knew no easy sleep
Grow cool and silent, soon or late.

All gods that go in guise of man
Return, as men, and are resolved
Into the dust– shed as they can
The weight that on their flesh devolved.

We offered Caesar what we must–
The coins that bear his lifeless face–
And mixed our sweat with Egypt’s dust
Till blood redeemed our tired race.

The curtain torn within the shrine,
The bloodied nails, the thorny crown,
The sponge that drooled its sour wine,
All mock us, as we lift him down.

From first to last, from best to worst,
All gods must die; one died today–
The one we loved– in pain and thirst.
We lift him down, and do not pray.

Log in to write a note
October 18, 2009

i only wish i was writing like that at 16

October 20, 2009

That’s a terrible poem. But also completely awesome in an hilarious way. 😀 My favourite line? “The sponge that drooled its sour wine” Hehe.

October 25, 2009

Hey, I’m glad you’re at the beach. That’s cool. Stella… beer… kebabs… bits of grilled meat in pita… “nad”… that’s just my drunk typing.

October 25, 2009

Maybe that was sarcastic anyway.

October 30, 2009

I try and write about my sex life and end up thinking of this and correcting myself. http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=D472494&entry=10048&mode=date Your grammar may be better, but I think my memory takes it. This was ****ing 2005.

October 30, 2009

Oh, you’re there. Chirping at me disapprovingly. I’ll just go and eat my own bodyweight in shame or summat. Sorry.

October 30, 2009

I’m sad and lonely and crazy and weird too. … I also wondered if it was a “MUSTN’T CORRECT GRAMMAR MUST REMAIN SILENT” chirp…

November 1, 2009

There is a setting under diary maintenance where you can let people swear, one of my favourites was banging on about it, so I changed it. I never noted this entry. Do you really want me to?

January 16, 2010