Mothers

How much havoc this woman spills
out of herself into us
merely by being
unhappy with such finality:

The mothers rise up in us,
rustling, uttering cooing
sounds, their hands moving
into our hands, patting anything
smooth again. Her deprived eyes and deathcamp
shoulders. There there

we say, bringing
bright things in desperation,
a flower? We make
dolls of other people and offer
them to her. Have him, we say,
what about her? Eat their heads off
for all we care, but stop crying.

She half sits in the bed, shaking
her head under the cowl of hair.
Nothing will do, ever.

She discards us, crumples down
into the sheets, twisting around
that space we can never
hope to fill,
hugging her true mother,
the one who left her here
not among us:
hugging her darkness.

-Margaret Atwood, “Mothers”

Log in to write a note
October 18, 2005

Hey. I am a bloody teenager. Is it Sharpskinkid? He seems sort of amenable to Arse. Or perhaps I just hate the dopey fucker because he thinks his dad’s some sort of hero for punching him in the face. People like that fucking bother me. I’ve spotted you trying to explain sarcasm to him before.

October 18, 2005

You really need to advertise that last entry to the relevant people, instead of posting feminist (thus: EVIL) poetry because you’ve got your period.

October 18, 2005

We’ve noticed that many girls are. We use it to pull when feeling particularly cynical 😉

October 18, 2005

I find it amazing that people can grow up with all that shit that’s supposed to make you a wonderful person, like parents and school and so on, and still think like that. Sometimes I think I grew a conscience out of spite…

October 18, 2005

Are you implying it’s hard to keep track of a girl’s period? Just spot the sex-free patches and general fury. First two girls I ever regularly fucked always had sex on their periods “because orgasms cure period pain!” I miss them.

October 18, 2005

I’d never snog John. I know where he’s been. Should I ask you for advice for where to take Nic in a minute, now? The pub or some cute cafe or down to the canal to kick stones at office kids on extended lunch breaks and have sex in filthy places? They don’t have anything but malls and fast food in yankland, do they? And you’re not a godless whore are you, anyway, so your advice is useless.

October 18, 2005

I got to go. write some kindly, motherly words of advice for arse and sharpskinkid, if you persisting in refusing to actually use this as a diary.