ennui

Since you went away, everything is looking great
I’m a little bored
When I see you out, maybe walking in the street
You always cross the road

Listen honey
There is nothing you can say to surprise me
Listen honey
There is nothing you can do to offend me
Any more
You don’t send me
Any more

Our little scene is getting smaller by the day
It’s a human zoo
But the key is change, getting over all your problems
You’re not a fool

Listen honey
There is nothing you can say to surprise me
Listen honey
There is nothing you can do to offend me
Any more
You don’t send me
Any more

Every sound is tame
Every group the bleedin’ same
It would make you mad
What happened to the sounds
That left you lying on the floor
Laughing, crying, jumping, singing

Listen honey
There is nothing you can say to surprise me
Listen honey
There is nothing you can do to offend me
Any more
You don’t send me
Any more

-Belle & Sebastian, “You Don’t Send Me”

Log in to write a note
November 11, 2005

Um yeah. Student music, full of vague niceties. I think my sex life’s more along the lines of Arctic Monkeys: “they got engaged, no intention of a wedding, he pinched my bird, and he’d probably kick my head in”…

November 11, 2005

Pulp, ‘I spy’: “I’ve been sleeping with your wife for the past sixteen weeks, smoking your cigarettes, drinking your brandy, messing up the bed that you chose together. And in all that time I just wanted you to come home unexpectedly one afternoon, and catch us at it in the front room.”

November 11, 2005

I think it’s retarded to compare anyone’s life to song lyrics. You can be as snotty as you like about people who foolishly use diary sites to write, er, diaries…