Am I silly?

My co-worker who sits across the office from me often mutters “Jesus” or “Holy Jesus” under her breath in frustration. It really bothers me. In a way I feel like I shouldn’t let it bother me so much. It’s not like her actions are harming me, or Jesus, or anyone. She isn’t a Christian, so she doesn’t know of any good reason to respect the name of Jesus. On the other hand, I think it’s really disrespectful to use the name of someone whom you know other people love and worship as a profanity, no matter how you yourself feel about him. I would not go around muttering “Many-armed Krishna” or “Hecate of the crossroads,” especially if there was a reasonable possibilty that there was someone around who felt love and loyalty to one of those people.

I wonder if it would be unreasonable of me to ask her not to use Jesus’ name as a profanity around me. She doesn’t say it loudly or anything, just mutters it to herself, but I can hear it rather clearly due to the smallness of the office and the sibilance of the consonants.

Log in to write a note
March 23, 2005

“It’s unfortunate what we find pleasing to the touch and pleasing to the eye is seldom the same.” I thought of her too. I remember that line and how I’ve kind of agreed with it. I thinkn pot bellies can be cute and very sexy.

I know its horrible. Jesus is so precious. To use his name for such a casual purpose is horrid indeed, but as you say, she knows no better. I dont think you have the right to ask her not to as she is at work – a public neutral place. If she was in your home or driving with you in your car, then you would have a right to ask her not to because thats your space. do u see what I mean?

March 24, 2005

RYN: Actually, if you sacrifice a member of warrant or poison he’ll do a jig for you. As for “Oh Jesus”, I once said “Big Buddha with bamboo up his ass that hurt!”. Creativity and alitteration points extra.

April 4, 2005

I agree. Except for during sex, I sustitute Sam Lee’s name for Jesus or God. (I don’t think Puppy would be very happy if I yelled “Sam Lee!!” during sex). I adore Sam Lee and think of it as a tribute to him as well as good etiquitte towards the religious types who scamper around my life’s road.