You’re Invited To My Birthday

“Today is her birthday. They’re smoking cigars.”

I had a great night.

I drove with a friend down to San Diego (1.5 hour drive) to attend the birthday part of an ex-classmate who I hardly knew. We grew up together in school. She attended my grade school and high school. So 1st through 12th grade. Six years-old to 18 years-old. That’s a lot of growing up time. Yesterday, she randomly invited me to her birthday party through that crazy Facebook contraption. I’m not sure what prompted her to do so. She hadn’t seriously thought I’d follow through, drive 80 miles to attend the party of a girl I hardly talked with. But, being the nostalgic boy I am (and a boy who enjoys amusing himself with ridiculous actions) I decided to go.

It was wonderful. There were a couple other high school classmates there too. I talked more with this girl than in our whole school history together. It was about time. I wish I could do so with everyone I failed to speak with and learn about through my growing up. Because I would probably find out that, just like Heather Howerton, they are really great people; I would learn that I am grateful to have shared life experience with them.

And the best part was probably when Heather drunkenly swung a bat, with full force, at a piñata I held… and when Brent Kietzke took the bat away from her after two swings, protecting me from possible serious injury.

Remember the power of birthday parties as kids? “You’re not invited to my birthday party” had such force. Well, I was invited. And I am so grateful for this. It still holds such power..

Log in to write a note
March 19, 2005

awww I’m glad you had fun….my friend Erica loves Facebook but I’ve never been to their site..hmm I’ll have to check it out. *hugs*

ryn: i agree. love is never simple and it’s not going to be 100% fantastic 100% of the time. but i can’t ignore the hard-earned wisdom of someone in the same boat. -lauren

March 19, 2005

lauren and david: i didn’t mean to say that love is and should be happy go lucky all the time. of course it’s work. i’m just saying that it shouldn’t be this huge, heart breaking ordeal in just trying to talk things out and work on things, and being unsure of the outcome. if you have a fight, you have a fight, or some sort of misunderstanding, that’s fine, which happens quite often sometimes with

March 19, 2005

my boy, but the point is that we work it out. shoot. i lost my train of thought, i was trying to make some sort of valid point, but i just completely lost it. oh well, i guess my point is, i just wanted to say that i’m not delusional about love, of course there are struggles, but when it goes beyond being able to get past those struggles and you have to “chase” after your significant other…

March 19, 2005

.. something is not right and you need need to fix it, either buy solving the problem with your boyfriend/girlfriend with communication and if in the end you don’t get the result that you wanted or that’s best for you, you need to remove yourself from the situation. i can testify to this as a result of many a crappy relationship. so there ya go. also, ya david! i love you and miss you.

March 19, 2005
March 26, 2005

Birthday parties are pretty weird arent they? Well its good that you found some old friends, that’s always the best part 🙂 I’m glad you updated too :)~

April 4, 2005

oh glad to read this story… get the full dramatic angle.

April 6, 2005

Arg.. it’s supposed to be an inspirational story. Or something. Well I guess you can look at it that way too. Hm..

April 19, 2005