Stand By You

I remembered tonight something I remember figuring out awhile ago.

For me, the essential of a relationship exists in the presence of the sentiment found in The Pretenders song “I’ll Stand By You.” Without that element, any romantic relationship for me is going to be lacking. Or really… any sort of relationship I guess. It’s the feeling I look for in most my relationships/friendships. All in all, I think it is one of the best “love songs” I’ve ever heard.

I’ll attempt to not just paste the whole song, because that’s usually annoying… but important elements to me.
“Don’t be ashamed to cry, let me see you through
cause I’ve seen the dark side too.
When the night falls on you, you don’t know what to do
Nothing you confess could make me love you less.”

This idea that anything can be said. The comfort to share anything, the security. Cause both of us are together through a life with moments of dark. It’s a reminder that we aren’t the only ones who’ve seen the darkness. We’re together in all this.

“So if you’re mad, get mad, Don’t hold it all inside…
Hey, what you got to hide? I get angry too. Well I’m a lot like you.
When you’re standing at the crossroads, and don’t know which path to choose
Let me come along cause even if you’re wrong
I’ll stand by you. Won’t let nobody hurt you.
Take me in, into your darkest hour and I’ll never desert you.”

See. the even if you’re wrong part. It’s not an aquiescence of any wrong, or an ignoring. It’s simply saying, when you’re wrong, I’ll be there to help you through the wrong. And I won’t stand with the crowd persecuting you. Which means acknowledging the wrong in the process. Take me into your darkest moments. Don’t keep me separate from your pain. Let me enter into it with you. I promise I won’t leave you in the darkness. We’re together in all this…

“When the night falls on you, baby. You’re feeling all alone…you won’t be on your own…
Won’t let nobody hurt you.”

So I guess I basically quoted the whole song. But for good reason. For me.
Just a song that says upfront, “Hey, I’ve got your back.”

Log in to write a note
May 11, 2004

that’s an awesome way to look at things. I wish everybody saw friendships/relationships like that. take care

May 11, 2004

it really annoys me how that one shakira song totally rips off the melody of “i’ll stand by you.” and nobody even acknoledges it.

May 11, 2004
May 11, 2004

i like the song… but i do think there are things that a person could confess which would make me love him less… for instance, if he had murdered my entire family. or if he was a pedophile. stuff like that. or maybe it would just make me love him in a different way… like, i’d love him as an archery target or something.

Yes.

May 11, 2004

heh. so you’re comment about me never doing anything fully alone is basically you being a really great friend? living by your song and such. the whole shannon and david findin’ me thing…. i mean it sort of relates to a part there in the song. which is comforting. and would always be reciprocated to you in any situation.

May 12, 2004

Yeah, man.

May 12, 2004

heh. your notes made me cry. awful.

This kind of love does exist and can be experienced and should always be protected.