One-Trick Pony

"One minute there was road beneath us, the next just sky."

It’s too late for so many things now.

There are so many aspects of who I am now that I would like to change. In so many ways, I want to be a different person. Every now and then, I get the fancy that I will change one of these parts of my personality or lifestyle. Nothing comes of it though. Why? Because at this point in life, those are the dried cement of my personality. I’m past the point of molding clay. Who I am is who I will always be.

Years ago, it was easily to create a persona for myself. If I wanted to be something else, I could modify behavior and thoughts. I successfully did it all the time too. I didn’t want to view girls as sexual objects, so I consciously restricted my mind from thoughts of that nature as much as I could. Many of the qualities I had in my personality back then were consciously constructed into my life. The future was a blank canvas on which I could paint. We all were at that age, whether we deliberately took advantage of it or not.

My life was shaping really well too. I was becoming someone to be proud of. Someone who would have been great some day in the approaching future. Someone everyone would want around.

Then things got mixed up. I fumbled a bit. Not realizing how little time I had left. Not realizing the window for personality construction was closing, I let go of all I had worked so hard at regarding myself. Not too long after, the molding period had closed. My personality was finalized.

Now it’s so frustrating looking at myself and hoping for something better. I know my mind isn’t as impressionable as before. This is the person I will have to live with for the rest of my life. These faults and limitations will continue every day. Not that everything is awful about myself. There’s just so many things I dislike. But it’s too late.

It’s too late for so many things now.
And it’s hard to live with, sometimes.

Log in to write a note
October 20, 2006

what’s the matter with the person you are now? as long as you like puppies and kittens and you haven’t murdered anyone i think you’re probably a-ok.

October 20, 2006

i hate to sound overly optimistic, but i think if you really wanted to change you could. it just seems kind of sad to decide that you can’t change. to just give up. but i do understand the feeling well.

October 26, 2006

It’s not true, you know. You CAN change. It’s just gotten harder, that’s all. God knows, I’ve changed an immense amount over the last ten years, and I started when I was older than you are now. It wasn’t easy at all, and only God’s grace made it possible: But it WAS possible.

Take courage. Your life hasn’t ended, and neither have you.

November 20, 2006

its too late to mold as quickly as you did, but i’ve seen people in their 80’s change their personalities. give it a shot and maybe you wont be such an ass in the end.