Ideally Minded V1.0 – Stopping Thought

So.

The mind is the smallest collective unit we have that we know defines us. The soul may or may not exist and the body will eventually die, but we instinctually know that the mind is a collective description of ourselves, at its most basic but accurate principles. It is the software in the hardware that we use to interface with the mainframe of the universe. So, by analysing the mind, and asking ourselves how it could be improved, we are asking how we could on the most basic level be better equipped to deal with everything, ever.

So, this series is basically an analysis of what would happen if my mind were differently equipped than it is. If it had abilities it doesn’t, how would that affect my life? How would it shape the stupid, mundane aspects of my me? How would I react to the highs and lows if I had a different middle?

So, because of the topic of conversation, I’m gonna be talking about really basic stuff. In fact, this is literally some of the msot basic stuff you can thing bout. it’s the toolbox. It’s the first principles. It’s the first question of competency.

The first ability I want to talk about is pretty simple. Stopping thinking. We all know how to start thinking. But how do we stop? Just flat out stop without the insinuation of repression or ignorance? How do we take the process of STOPPING thinking into the conscious realm in which our volition operates? How do we make it part of our toolbox without burning down the house?

The problem is that operating a mind is kind of like operating a locomotive, you have some control over the track you take but once your mind is moving you can’t just have it stop it quickly without risking it running it off the rails into insanity or depression.  The only way you can do it is by controling the average speed at which you approach your goal. By being prudent, by being continually conscious of the appropriate speed at which to go.

I, for example, much to my detriment have trained my mind like an inbred border collie, to run out as fast as possible and analyse everything at the highest speed availible to it. This is theoretically to better facilitate it rapidy improving itself, or as least that’s what I thought at the time. The truth is that my mind moves so quickly that it’s constanly out of control, like a person who habitually drives late at night with their eyes closed, but who are also crippled by a underlying fear that prevents them from actually enjoying their recklessness. So, the problem is that my mind has a top speed that is doesn’t live up to its handling, or it’s breaks. I feel like I cannot enjoy my mind’s speed, because I always feel that it’s taking me somewhere I don’t really want to go. The only time I can actually enjoy the ride is when I either accept my inability to drive or get distracted into thinking about something other than the speed.

So, what would happen if I could just stop thinking about something? And I don’t mean like something that I genuinely need to talk about, I mean something that I would be better off if I could stop obsessing about it, something that saps joy, redirects energy and teaches galse lessons. I mean what would happen If you could consciously look at something and make an INFORMED decision to stop thinking about it? A lover you can’t have?  A sight you don’t want to see? What if it was really just as easy as deciding to stop in order to do so? Why does it have to be so fuckign hard to put your mind onto something else?

The problem is that it’s so deceptively simple to do if you’re simply completely uninformed, stopping or redirecting thought into ignorance works well, but the fucker is that redirecting conscious curiosity based on internal obsession works less well. The ideal life is one lived in total and complete ignorance, while at the same time being completely right and correct.

If I could consciously slow my mind down, enjoy the ride, go at a rate that would allow the other parts of my mind to catch up I could begin to stick the parts of my mind back together, not feel so spread out, stretched. I think that total cohesiveness of mind is the only healthy goal. There’s no point in having a well informed intuitive mind if it’s too stretched to make sense out of anytthing. So, it’s just as important, if not more so, to know how to simply stop, so you can carry on.

 

Log in to write a note
October 10, 2009

ryn: Are you from Ireland?

October 10, 2009

You are right, pausing here and there is a good thing. The mind is a dangerous place. ryn: Just want you to know that I truly appreciate your words. “Creativity is a byproduct of life, not the object of it.” I really like that thought. If I just relax and let my art happen, it is so much better than when forced. So, thank you. I will remember those words.

October 11, 2009

are you new? Just wondering because it’s almost like you have absolutely no kind of information about you.

October 11, 2009

RYN: Yes, i know what you mean. thanks. lol, life comes to us in many different ways, and i guess we have to make the best out of it. you know. the life gives you lemons thing. lol. cliche i know! 🙂

October 11, 2009

my god i wish i had an answer for you, i’m the ultimate in obsessing over something and never knowing how to switch off, and it switches from one obsession to the other, like money i don’t have, schoolwork i haven’t done, the ex i know i don’t want, and round and round we go. you’re probably not surprised to hear i’m an insomniac! xx

October 13, 2009

ryn: I believe that majority of people will die alone and I embrace that fact even though I am in a very healthy and loving relationship. Nothing lasts. It just doesn’t. Do I have a good thing? Yes. No doubt. But nothing ever lasts. So I have decided to just enjoy it. And yes – the mind is a dangerous place. My ex husband terrorized me emotionally and mentally all the time. And I did it to myself

October 13, 2009

I had to be completely broken down to the point of insanity to finally learn how to stop myself from going in circles over the stupidest stuff even up to the bigger stuff. And I had to do some counseling lol…but that’s for a different dilemma all in itself.