Straddling a Fine Line

Four long years.  That’s how long this diary has existed.  In some ways, it feels like forever ago…then, in others, it feels like it was just yesterday that I started this thing up.  Amazing. 

Today at work, something rather hilarious went on for about an hour.  I went out to the floor to retrieve a DVD/VCR for a customer pick up and was greeted by an odd sight as I reached the Home Appliances section.  A rather tall girl (probably about 6-3, at least) was sitting on a dishwasher…nay, she was straddling the dishwasher.  In a pretty short skirt, complete with knee high leather boots.  I was just like….”Damn!”  It was nuts.  I told the two other guys I was working with about it.  They proceeded to have to see this for themselves.  One of them came back, saying that Bruce, an older guy who’s a salesman in Home Appliances, told him, “I saw you looking at that (referring to the girl, obviously).  She showed it to me earlier.  Yeah, she’s not wearing any panties.”  At that point, it became just hysterical.  Starved for attention, what?  And, to top it off, when I’d walked past her earlier, she had been on her cell phone talking to her mother.  WTF….WTF, indeed.

Currently, I’m in the middle of the Pretty Much Annual Hair Grow Out.  It’s going to stick around this time, I can feel it.  The shaved head thing is over.  Really, I mean it this time.  Though, about a month or so ago, it almost made a permanent comeback.  Y’see, I noticed something slightly odd about a part of my right bangs….two grey hairs.  Yes, two.  Why only two?  I dunno.  But for a day or so, I was out of my mind.  “What the fuck am I doing with grey hairs?!”  The more I thought about it, though…the less I cared.  As long as the whole head doesn’t go grey, what the fuck do I care?

Now Playing in Dave’s Mental Jukebox:  “Shut ‘Em Down” by Bionic Jive, “Goodbye Girl” by Hootie and the Blowfish, and “Finally Woken” by Jem

Something I can’t believe I’ve neglected to mention is that, on April 15th, Rebecca (pen pal/best friend/former romantic interest/former sister-like figure/Queen B) got married.  Yeah, I know.  It was on Tax Day.  Don’t think she didn’t get shit from me for that.  I haven’t heard anything from her yet since the wedding, but so far as I know, everything went without a hitch.  To state the obvious, I wasn’t able to make it, what with the new job I’d just gotten and all.  I just couldn’t ask for the necessary time off to take the trip down there (Louisiana)….let alone the cost.  Considering my paltry $7.00/hr, you can see what I mean.  And that pained me greatly.  I’d always told her nothing would keep me away from it, but when it came down to it, the stark reality was that I just couldn’t.  Damn me and my fanciful promises…damn ’em to hell.

It’s funny how just looking around my room reminds me just how much of a complete and utter dork I am.  Or, if not a dork, at least a collector.  On my desk here with the computer, there’s a Chrono Cross clock, a South Park mouse pad, two Mallrats In-Action figures (Willam and Brodie), two Star Wars Unleashed figures (Darth Maul and General Grievous), a Gil figure (from The Simpsons), and a miniature Stanley Cup.  On top of the CD player a few feet away is a Colorado Buffalo mini-statue and a Wayne Gretzkey figure.  On the shelves that comprise my bed’s headboard is a gaggle of stuff:  My set of Tales of Symphonia figures (Lloyd, Kratos, Genus, Presea, Zelos, Sheena, and Collette…the whole set), five regular Star Wars figures (General Grievous, Asajj Ventress, Kit Fisto, Shaak-Ti, and Luminara Unduli), a miniature Kiryu (a.k.a. Mechagodzilla, ver. 3, circa. 2002-2003…also my namesake), and 9-inch Godzilla figure, and a Deathstroke the Terminator classic style Teen Titans figure.

Like I said…I’m a dork.  You know why?  Most of that I knew without even looking.

And with that damning evidence…I go.

Sayonara.

Log in to write a note
May 1, 2005

Yeah.. A little dorky, But I think that is a sign of great things. My Comic Book Collection is Dorky my baseball bobble heads are dorky and my Fantastic 4 action-figures are dorky but I also think they are pretty great too. 🙂