The 4th According To My Town

So…I live in a small, small town. And here is our schedule of events for tomorrow’s festivities.

7:00am – 5k Registration (Dudley’s Landing)
8am – 5k Race (Dudley’s Landing)
10am – Family Bike Rodeo
10:30 – 12noon – “Kids Time” Pony Rides/Airbrush Tattoos/Inflatables
11:30am – Karaoke Registration
12noon – Dog Show
12-7pm – Inflatables, Music, Food and Crafts
(Climbing Wall, Carmen the caterpillar, Moonwalk, Giant Slide and a MECHANICAL BULL)
1-2:45pm – Karaoke ($250 1st Place Winner)
3pm – Sam, Danny and Steve
3:30pm – Carilion Lifeguard Helicopter
4pm-“Elvis”
5pm – The Java Brothers (Blue Grass)
6pm – National Anthem – Ms. Amanda Shepheard /Mayor Tom Starnes/ Dr. Harshberger Patriotic Readings
6:15pm – “Greater Love”
7:15 – 8:45pm – JIMMY FORTUNE
9:00pm– Karaoke Finals
9:30pm – Fireworks

 

So let’s review, shall we?

Notice the Climbing Wall, MECHANICAL BULL etc. Starts at noon. And at 3:30 the medic helicopter makes an appearance. Methinks they planned ahead.

But then if we back up a bit, we notice at 10am there is a "Family Bike Rodeo". I do NOT know what that is…but I think that sounds like it will require medical attention.

Moving on. Karaoke starts at 1pm. Ends at NINE. Does ANYONE see an issue with this?!?!!?

And my favorite. Please see the 3pm slot.

Sam, Danny, and Steve.

I. Do not have the slightest clue as to who those people are…nor do I want to venture a guess as to what they will be doing to entertain the….20 people who have survived 3 karaoke filled hours.

And I’m not even touching "Greater Love"

I’m showing up around 8:30 to stake out a spot for fireworks. With an ipod and some soundproofing ear buds.

Happy 4th!

Log in to write a note
July 3, 2008

WOW lol

July 3, 2008

Everyone is supposed to know who those 3 guys are I guess?? And “Elvis” is coming!

July 3, 2008

Have fun! I will be at a cookout and will have to be on my good behavior because I am sure that what I know will be one of my future students parents next year will be there. boo.

July 3, 2008

lol greater love

July 3, 2008

Greater love. Oh, my imagination is running wild at this one. lol.

July 3, 2008

WOW! We had our fireworks tonight. For some reason there’s a HUGE festival in my city on the 3rd. So I went on the boat with Derek and Justin. (BTW, you’re going to hate me…more later.) Tomorrow consists of SITTING on my BOAT on the HUGE LAKE in a cloudless sky. And then more fireworks. I’ll call you tomorrow- We need to have an important conversation!!!

July 4, 2008

Yeah it sounds like that iPod would definitely be in order. 🙂 I’d like to see the bike rodeo myself, although I’m with you in not having the slightest clue as to what it is…

July 4, 2008

That’s hilarious Gotta’ love small towns.

July 4, 2008

I love my lack of any punctuation in that note. Awesome.

July 5, 2008

I now officially officially like small towns. Not cuz of your entry, but you reminded me, lol. I’ve never lived in one, but I always figured they were cool, but now I really like them. Still have a couple reservations about them. Like dealing with mean people in a small town. I dunno. Lol. I’ll write about it on my diary eventually. but **HUGS** ^_^

July 7, 2008

lol Sounds like a great people watching event!