My Life Is Not My Own

Ok.

Gonna try to regain some semblance of my life.

School is taking over.

SO. I’ve designated Monday as OD day. So….HOPEFULLY every Monday I shall return for an update.

So…here’s my quick update because I have less than 15 minutes until Big Bang Theory comes on and signifies my wind-down half hour of the evening.

Crap, I still have a powerpoint to finish.

IT NEVER ENDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So. I’m a teacher now.

And that sentence makes me wanna stab myself.

F everyone’s I….I DO NOT LIKE TEACHING. I do not want to BE a teacher. This is NOT my goal, this is NOT my passion, this is NOT my dream. And if I have anything to say about it, I won’t be doing this for long.

So. Be prepared for some whining. I’m teaching because…well how else am I going to pay off my 70K student loans? I got a masters in education because that was the quickest masters program I could manage…and my bachelors is utterly useless on it’s own…so I had to do SOMETHING.

SO. I wound up teaching. And I loathe it.

And what sucks even more…is that I’m good at it.

I have good classroom control, everyone thinks I’m in my 2nd or 3rd year of teaching instead of 1st. My administrators are all impressed, my kids don’t have a CLUE I’m a new teacher…and I scare the hell out of most of them.

And kids that aren’t in my classes.

If they annoy me I will stalk them in the halls and get them in trouble.

Because I’m THAT person.

Because NONE of the kids at my school think rules apply to them.

PS. I’m in a VERY inner city school. 70% on free and reduced lunch, highest pregnancy rate in the state, just….not good environment. Most kids only have one parent….so therefore kids are home alone a lot…no after school programs or activities…just….drugs and the streets. Fun times. Our school system is comprable to inner city NY. Like queens. For real.

So. That’s where I am.

And I’m just trying to make it through the year.

And now…I’m gonna go make a powerpoint.

Will return next Monday. And if I don’t….someone who has my cell number, harass me.

Log in to write a note
September 14, 2009

Aw, I’m sorry you’re not liking your teaching position!

September 14, 2009

missed ya!!!

September 15, 2009

So instead of teaching … what do you want to do?

September 15, 2009

yuck. I on the other hand am in a very rural county. This year has gone okay so far.

November 10, 2009

Hey we noted back in 2004. (lol yea, Im reading back on some old entries) I think its funny about the stalking them to get them in trouble. THATS what I would do. I wat to be a teacher though. In an actual school. Not a daycare. Thats where I was for 3 years…

March 26, 2010

Yikes I’m sorry your in that situation Courtney! Email me sometime, you should know how to reach me!