Weee!!!

You know I’ve never played tennis before. The closest I’ve gotten to tennis is sitting on a couch and watching a match on ESPN, usually by Maria Sharapova or Serena Williams. Sometimes I don’t even understand who scores and how it happened and such. I just enjoy watching them hit that tennis ball with force and determination to win, not to mention with some loud serious grunting. And of course, I do get excited to see who wins, even though I don’t quite understand the rules of the game. 🙂

The thing is, I finally got to play tennis. Well not really, just some kind of a sort of. OK, I’ll stop being silly. LOL

I played tennis through Nintendo Wii. I totally had no idea what Wii is before. If someone had mentioned Wii to me last week, I would have thought the pronoun "we" or thought of it as some French word. I’m probably the most foreign young-adult from all that Play Station-Xbox world. I don’t really play computer/video games even if some of the people I’m really close with are into it. Well if you consider Zuma and Scrabble video games, then I guess I’m not so out of place after all. 🙂 But now that I’ve experienced playing some games through the latest video game console, I think I’ve found a new hobby (and a new thing I’m pretty good at! heehee). I really enjoy the Wii sports, maybe because that’s the only thing I’ve discovered so far. I’ve only played tennis and bowling, and there’s still boxing, baseball and golf. There are tons of other video games that you can play through Wii and I think I’m on for more exciting discoveries. I’m like a little kid who gets so excited and giddy when she rides her very first carousel and realized that there are still ferris wheel, bump cars and a ton others that she can ride after that. Well what can I do? I’m so innocent and naive when it comes to all these computer/video games and now I’m just starting to be exploited. Not in a bad sense of course. You know what I mean. (Just trying to use "unique" words and trying hard to be metaphorical. LOL)

I really enjoy playing tennis, in Wii that is. I mean I’ve never held a racquet before or hit a hallow rubber ball, nor set foot on a tennis court, and already I was winning matches in Wii sports while making gestures to bat the tennis ball on screen. It’s also a good way to exercise. I think if I play tennis on Wii even just once a day for weeks, not too long I’ll develop toned arm muscles. I’ve only been playing for 2 days and already my radial muscles feel a bit swollen, like I’ve been lifting some dumbbells. When you’re into video games and playing pretty much all day, you’re a couch potato. But when you’re playing through Wii, you become active. It’s not only healthy to your enjoyment and to your how-to-kill-boredom strategy, but also to your physical health. (And possibly, mental health also.) I was already pumping some sweat while being drawn to tennis and feeling like Maria Sharapova-ish, sans the towering height, the Rapunzel-like hair and the long legs of course (but that’s another story!). If you’re into boxing and want to feel Manny Pacquiao-ish, with all that boxing gestures, try boxing on Wii. 🙂 My parents and their friends, who’s a couple and who owns the Wii have enjoyed playing bowling the most. In spite of the generation gap between us, I enjoy watching them play. It can get as close to watching a real game up close, only it’s your family and friends who are the players. Wii is amazing. No wonder it’s been a pretty big hit lately, meant to fulfill it’s creators purpose to contest other popular video game consoles in the market today.

Now I realize I’m already sounding like a Nintendo Wii advertisement. Well if it is as good as what I’ve experienced so far, then why not?!

Log in to write a note
April 30, 2007

Everyone I know who has played on the Wii says its a lot of fun. I havent done it yet but I want to try!