We were at the Oscars…almost!

Being new residents of Southern California, especially someone being from a totally different far far away country, we had to go see the Oscars/Academy Awards in person! Of course, not actually inside the Kodak Theatre (you must be some kind of VIP to actually be there inside), but along the side walks where you can see the celebrities in their shimmering worst or best gowns. I’m really into all that entertainment/Hollywood stuff and I have been a big fan of the Oscars for as long as I can remember, watching it live back in the Philippines in the not-so-clear broadcast on our television. Seeing the stars walk along the red carpet for this big event right infront of me has been a lifelong dream. And now that I’m actually here, near where all the big fuss happens, I just had to go there and take the chance upon seeing international celebrities right in the flesh.

So I convinced my parents for us to drive to Hollywood. We were there this afternoon, just in time when the stars were arriving on the red carpet. But my oh my, we were already too late. We were only able to get about 20 feet from the celebrities, that’s where they gated it and closed. There were countless security guards around, making sure no one is stepping behind the limit line. The ones who were able to get closer where there a lot earlier. Actually we were supposed to be there around noon but after we attend the early mass this morning, I went back to sleep and did not wake up until around noon. My parents also dozed off. Anyway, all we saw were the backs of the people in gowns and they were smaller since we were looking at them far enough to require a telescope. And we mostly saw cars arriving, of whom we don’t know. One of the guards on the street told us that those people were producers, production assistants or the cousin of the cousin of someone who was invited to the Oscars. We didn’t get to see any celebrity who we actually know, in other words no sight of someone famous. But the thought that we were that close, just a few feet away, from the famous people, made it seem OK to me that we were there standing in the cold yet went home with nothing, no stories of celebrity sightings. At least we got the experience. That was the closest we can get.

And oh, I saw Mr. Oscar! The giant golden naked guy out in the cold. 🙂

There’s Mr. Oscar, a glimpse of the red carpet and probably the valet people:

My parents after we made our way through the anticipating crowd:

 

Log in to write a note
February 25, 2007

ur wlcum….u’ve far east origin, which is it?

son
February 26, 2007

ur welcome…

ryn: you’re welcome, thanks for stopping by my diary also! So you’ve moved from the Philippines to the USA?! Wow, big difference! I’m glad you got to see part of the Oscar excitement in a much clearer place 🙂 drop by again sometime if you like x

February 26, 2007

Hello! Bridget Jones here! Hehe. Thanx for the note! Wow id give anything to see the American celebs! We only ever see the Hugh Grant and Minnie Driver etc. Sounds like a busy busy day you had! Im so jealous! xx

wow that just seems out of this world. I live in Australia, there aint nothing like that here!!!