Movie Review: In Her Shoes (2005)

In Her Shoes (2005) seen on Saturday, March 24, 2007
Main Cast: Cameron Diaz, Toni Collette, Shirley MacLaine
Directed by: Curtis Hanson

“In Her Shoes” can be classified as a “chick flick” by some, especially when one hasn’t seen it yet. Just the sound of the title and the gender of the majority of the cast make it seem like a chick flick. I was one of them. I thought this was a feel good, light, chick flick. However, after I saw the movie, I realized I was right and I was also wrong. This is a chick flick, yet it’s not light and for the feel good part? It will give you more than that. I felt great after I saw this movie. Great in a sense that I felt a plethora of mixed emotions throughout the film. I laughed, yet there are moments as if my heart will break. I don’t know if this is because I’m a girl, but in my opinion this movie is deep.

It’s about two very different sisters (played brilliantly by Toni Collette and Cameron Diaz) who, in spite of their differences and amidst their family’s tragedy, share a close bond. Rose (Toni Collette) is the responsible one who always has to “rescue” her trashy sister, Maggy (Cameron Diaz) from the troubles she’s getting herself into. Circumstances eventually lead us to know their grandmother (another brilliant portrayal by Shirley MacLaine), who has been estranged to the family for years. They are 3 different and strong women, each have experiences to share in the benefit of the other and in the healing of past wounds in their family.

“In Her Shoes” is a combination of comedy, drama and romance, brilliantly written (How else can you pull off a movie in a classy way with signature stilletos and an E.E. Cummings’ poem in it?) and well-put together (I couldn’t find a part in the movie that can be considered a flaw.) Most of all, this movie is all about family. And it teaches us that no matter what, your family will always be there for you and there are no wounds that can’t be healed if we take a step to honesty and humility.

* 5 stars out of 5

Log in to write a note