Humor in Math

I think there are 2 kinds of people in this world: those who love Math and are good at it, and those who are..well, hate Math and suck at it. It may seem a one sided, bias classification but most of the time it makes it easier for me to tell a lot about a person based on this Math thing. To me, it’s either numbers or words.

I belong to the latter. I was in a Chinese school that’s well-known to produce Math wizards. Not only were we taught to solve Math problems in English, but in Chinese as well. We learned Chinese terms for triangles, hypotenuse and such, which I think is pretty useless since I can’t remember a thing about them now. *hehe* I really had a hard time passing my Math subjects back then. Thank God I did pass even if my grades were far behind average and already nearing to fall beyond the passing mark. I have a penchant for words and writing, and it seems that my neurons don’t have a place for numbers. That’s why Math, Trigonometry and Physics really tortured me to pieces when I was in high school. I couldn’t wait to reach the point where I can refer to my high school Math days as a thing of the past. That’s why I was rejoicing to the max and felt like I’m in a whole new different life when I graduated. It was time to move on from the clutches of the cruel numbers.

But even though I really detested my high school Math days, I’m glad and grateful that I went through it because when I reached college, I was acing my Math subjects, surprisingly. The pain from high school Math training really did make me gain something. I’m also proud when I encounter someone from my hometown who presumes I’m good at Math the moment he/she learns I graduated from Tay Tung. Little did they know that I was struggling back then and was in the bottom of my Math class. 😉

Ironically I got this email from a high school classmate, with the subject "Stress reliever!! …very "intelligent" exam answers :-)." I was cracking up at this because as you all know, I really hated Math, Physics and almost anything that has to do with numbers. It was fun mocking them! 🙂 If I had encountered this in high school, it would have helped reduced my overflowing stress from Math.

At first glance, I actually thought this was a correct shortcut:

The wonders of elimination:

Peter is a wise student. He did expand it after all.

 Yey, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles! Reminds me of my childhood. 🙂 Even the teacher loved it!

 Bahala na si Batman!

That’s another way of putting it.. : 

Log in to write a note