Shitty poetry written at work in a bad mood

This is a draft, and if I’m still in a bad mood later I might edit it.  But you know how shitty poetry is…sometimes it’s just not worth it.

PS- I’m sorry but it rhymes(sort of)

Emergency Girlfriend

When you look into the mirror, there you can see
the gaping wound where your heart used to be.
Take the shards out, send it off for repair,
but in the meanwhile she’ll be there.
Department store, temporary hearts looks so real
Nevermind that you don’t bother to feel
anything besides your  own personal pain.
She’ll take it all on and won’t complain
at all. 

What a lovely sadness sponge she makes,
soaking up all your hurt til her own heart breaks
for you and all she wants is for you to feel
well again.

It will happen in time, the hurt goes away.
And now you’re all better, she doesn’t need to stay.
Then you’ll let her go slowly, not hurry her away
because if something else happens she’ll be close at hand
to rescue you once more from self-loathing land.

Alright that’s it, and further proof that I will NEVER be a poet.  Now I’m going to listen to upbeat music on my iPod and try and fix this mood swing.

Log in to write a note
July 21, 2006

it has some kinks in it, but i loved what you were going for here. you just need to try and get it to flow better. i think you have something really awesome started here-i love the sponge comment.

ryn: thanks. lol, sometimes, but I didn’t break the mirror itself (besides, they’re not real glass lol, which I found out after I tried to scrape glue off with a razorblade).