Too Darn Busy

I haven’t been on here for a while. Too darn busy! Just trying to catch up with all my faves. It’s going to take a while!

I’m home alone!  Mike is in Leeds on a stag do, probably getting hideously drunk as I type. Still, I really let my hair down on the hen do I went on 2 weeks ago, so it’s fair enough! That hen do was fabulous by the way. We spent Friday afternoon in a spa getting pampered, then Saturday we went to Alton Towers (theme park with loads of scary rides!) and then got very very drunk on Saturday night! It was brilliant, I felt so freeeeeeeee and William was absolutely fine without me, as I knew he would be!

In other news:

* I made a big decision and have decided to launch my childminding business on my own. Doing it with Jen was too sloooooooow as she’s too meticulous over everything. I need to start earning money ASAP-my finances are in a truly diabolical state and I’ve just had to borrow a LOT of money off my mum and dad just to pay my basic outgoings.

* The house is child-proof. We’ve got stairgates, plug socket covers, everything. I’m awaiting inspection from OFSTED to ensure my house is suitable and then I can start advertising for kids! Woop woop!

* William now has 2 teeth (the 2 bottom ones) which I brush once a day and is cutting a third-a little white tip has appeared on one of his top gums. He’s now 8 months old. 8 MONTHS OLD!! I can’t believe it! He is absolutely gorgeously chubby right now. I must post some pics. He can sit unaided and is still doing commando crawling around the house-going for the laptop wires is his absolute favourite thing. He eats anything and everything and is now happily drinking water but all attempts to make him drink out of a cup have so far failed. He just loves his bottle. I should probably be perserving more but…….erm, I’m not.

He only sleeps for 30 mins now in the day. He usually has 3 or 4 30 mins naps in the pram or car seat. He sleeps from 7pm til 5-6am, which suits me fine.

Sounds silly, but he’s clearly developing his own little personality and seems less baby-like. At swimming today he was so much more aware of what was going on and knew what was coming next. I love the way he plays with his toys now, picking them up and slowly passing them from hand to hand, examining every little ridge and part.

He’s such a happy, smiley little baby. I feel so blessed. No wonder I want more.

* Mike and I have been arguing much more than usual. He recorded over Nip/Tuck the other night and I went berserk . A bit unfair really. I don’t know what it is but something is bothering me. I think I expect him to be this perfect husband and perfect father and read my mind all the time. And because no-one is perfect, when he fails to live up to my expectations, I get furious. Ugghhhh. I think we need some couple time. A meal or night out together-which we haven’t done since William was about 6 weeks old-is what we need I think. Some proper couple time.

Also I’m ready for a new challenge. I LOVE being a SAHM but I miss using my brain. I think that’s part of my frustration.

Ok it’s late and I’m tired. And I can’t make Mike get up early tomorrow with William like I normally do on a Saturday. Grrrr! Better get to bed.

lots of love Clare xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Log in to write a note
April 27, 2007

Glad you had fun on the hen weekend :o) 3 teeth?! Is Angelo the only toothless baby left in the whole world?! Sounds like they’re having the same issues with drinking from a cup though. Angelo used to be OK with it but now he thinks it’s more fun to grab it and throw it on the floor…. I totally sympathise with the need for couple time and brain-usage. *hugs* PS. Will email you soon!

April 28, 2007

Yay for teeth! Kaia is still very gummy. LOL. I am loving this age, i love how they interact so much more now. I miss my brain too. You need a challenge and childminding i’m sure will bring you some!

April 28, 2007

I’m glad you had a fun time at the hen party. It’s great that you went forward on your own. 🙂 I’m sure you’ll be great at it!

Aw hun don’t worry about the cup right now. He’s only 8 months old. It will still be a few months before he wants a sippy. Abigail was almost a year before she ever took to one. And teeth now?? How exciting! They’re going to be popping in like crazy now! 🙂

April 28, 2007

im glad you are going to get the childmining going soon. He sounds so adorable…babies totally have their own personalities. lol. Glad the hen weekend was fun 🙂

April 29, 2007

Excellent news about the childminding business! Good luck!!!! I’ve always thought I would go into childminding after i have my own. Makes no sense for me to have someone look after my baby whilst i look after someone elses – might as well combine then! Glad you had a great time on the hen do. I love Alton Towers. xxxx

April 29, 2007

I look at Jake now and see a little toddler, not the baby he once was. *sigh*

I love watching Ari’s personality blooming too–she is so much fun now! 🙂 Good luck with the childminding business!

May 1, 2007

ryn: yeah we get out June First and school starts again on August 6th. We get a week off in Oct. a week off in Nov. two weeks off in Dec (last week of dec first week of jan) and a week off in march. We still go 180 days a year.