Ramdom acts of Kindness…

Well today I did one of the things that I try my best to do…and it work very well for someone today.  I had stopped at Music Trader just to look…and one of the people that worked there was talking about her Jeep not running right.  She was talking about her needing a jump start, or something…so I just started talking to her about what was wrong, and told her that I would help her with it.  I took the battery out and over to the part store that is right in the same complex.  Well this girl is clueless when it comes to a car…but I had no problems helping her.  I did it just because I wanted to.  Of course I did leave and came back after the battery was getting charged.   Needed to come home for a few minutes.  Anyway, once I got the battery back in, she came out to see what was going on with her Jeep.  I told her to try it out, and it started right up for her.  She was so happy.  I then talked to her about some of the things that should be done to her Jeep.  First and for most, new air filter…and she badly needes a valve cover gasket.  I told her that she should get new plugs and wires…as well as a tune up.  Power wash the motor…that would help a lot too.  Just things that should be done, but weren’t, because she didn’t know.  She at least wrote it all down, and told me that she would tell her dad to fix it up for her.  Not sure what will happen, but hey, I got a hell of a discount for the three movies I got at the store.  Plus she told me that I was the nicest guy that she has ever met in her life.  And I wish I knew what people meant about my accent.  I don’t have one of those…!  She called me some country guy from Kansas with an accent.  All I could do was say thank you, and well it’s who I am.  And at least tell her that I do these acts just because I want to. 

I am fitting into the new ship somewhat…at least I think I am.  I have been given the title of L.P.O. though.  It was made clear to me today that is what I am going to be.  I was able to get the guys out by 11 though.  The rain sure helps a hole hell of a lot too…!  Not sure when I will be able to get them out tomorrow.  There is a ship wide cleaning being done from 1300 to 1400.  The ship is in the yards…there is no way to keep the damn ship clean while in the yards.  Talk about a pain in the ass…!  So yeah…I am going to have to deal with cleaning stations for the hour, and then we can leave.  I would be so happy if we could just bunch out of there at 1000…but not sure that is going to happen. 

I know it’s short…but hey, I’ll come back.  I think we know that by now.  LATERS…!

Log in to write a note
November 7, 2004

I live in kansas myself and people are always talkin about my accent when i travel…they also ask me if i know dorthy and toto.