0200 Thursday part one

Well for those of you that can’t figure out what that means, it’s 2:00 am and I am awake…again.  This time though, I wasn’t going to flop around in my rack for 3 and a half hours like I did last night, to end up getting 90 minutes of sleep and then having to go deal with a  shot gun shoot.  That went well…but I was tired after it was all said and done, and I took a nap after I ate lunch.  Not that it helped, but hey it still felt good…!  Finally we were told that we are going to be able to make our way back to San Diego.  There is still one more thing we have to do out here and that is a five day stop over/training/playing with the Indian Navy.  I still don’t know the full details of what we are going to be doing, but there is us, and one other US War ship, and our sub that should be there, plus whatever ships that India bring to this.  As I said, it’s a five day thing for us…but we aren’t underway the hole time.  We anchor out a couple of different times…and then there is a hole day where we are suppose to go ashore and play volleyball and golf and stuff like that.  I’m like…Nah, I’ll pass.  We are going to have to take pills for the rest of the trip home though once we stop.  Malaria pills.  Hope ours work for us…unlike those poor guys on that one Navy ship that got sick as all get out because something was wrong with the pills, or they were not taken the right way.  Who knows though…but after we are done with that crap in India, we head back out, and Eastward again…!  A stop over in Singapore (BLAH…!), on to Guam, and then Hawaii, and the final stop…SAN DIEGO…!  I am still planning on leaving in Hawaii.  I could really use that 5 to 6 day jump start for ME in San Diego.  I will tell you right now if I don’t get leave from Hawaii, I am going to be one VERY, VERY MAD Son of A Bitch…!  For how ever long we would be underway, I would just stay in my rack.  There would be no reason for me to leave there…NONE…!  Well I would go to the bathroom and stuff, but that’s about it.  I would bring all my snack food to my rack, and live off that…!  Drink water, and eat my granola bars.  But I am sure I will get to leave from Hawaii.  There would be no reason to keep me behind on this ship…but only time will tell.  After we are heading eastward, then I will start asking, and making sure that it will happen, at least for me. 

Log in to write a note
October 1, 2003

Good luck, I hope you get some leave! Take care. Wouldn’t there be lots of crumbs in your rack with Granola Bars!!!!

October 2, 2003

*keeping fingers crossed for you*