That’s better.

So things are finally settling down. After having a meltdown after an absolutely perfect weekend due to the idiots that work at this school, I was seriously considering just not coming back. The only thing that kept me from emailing them and telling them to fuck off was the fact that I had just signed a lease for another year. Luckily, they finally realized why I was freaking out and quickly responded. I think it was "I need to know if I’m getting a paycheck or not because I did NOT budget to not get one and I need to pay rent." that finally made them go "Ohhh so that’s why she’s asking questions." And the fact that I had a $10k tuition bill when I’m not supposed to be paying tuition.

So I’m officially getting my PhD in experimental psychology, since they finally made that decision. I was freaking about the massive pay downgrade, but after seeing my next pay check — it’s really not that big of a deal. I’m sure I’ll be freaking next summer when I have to sing for my supper (aka: teach in order to be paid at all), but it’ll be fine and I have time before that really matters. I’m glad to not be affiliated with the medical school or the biomedical science program anymore. The fact that no one there had their shit straight was overwhelmingly annoying. At least this program has been in place for a while and I have concrete guidelines to follow. My only real question left is: Am I teaching this semester? (I can only hope the answer to that is no considering the semester starts tomorrow.) 

My sister’s wedding was absolutely phenomenol. It went better than any of us could have even hoped for, and most importantly: My sister and new brother-in-law were so unbelievably happy. They’re so good for each other and I couldn’t be happier for them. Not to mention the fucking kick ass reception.

I do have to say that I’m glad I don’t have to hear "Omg, you sound exactly like your sister!" or "Omg that face you made looked exactly like the way your sister does…" I’m aware that I sound exactly like my sister and look like my sister. I’ve been aware of this for a very long time. The voice thing was first noticed at camp (where she worked and I went to) and her fellow counselors used to get confused because they’d hear her but she wouldn’t be there. And my dad gets confused when we’re on the phone or in different parts of the house. Yeah, so that got old fast.

I just picked up the keys to my new apartment. Aside from me not being able to figure out how to open my front door at first, it’s pretty awesome. Hopefully they move the extra furniture out of my room asap so I can actually move in. Apparently one of my roommates has a dog which should be pretty awesome. It’ll be like having my own dog without the actual responsibility. Hopefully Penny gets along with the dog. Oh well, we’ll see. I’m going to head back over there after work and move some stuff in.

Log in to write a note